Trust from Distrust

sad woman1

 

building trust

out of the ruins

from the walls of distrust

her history

pain, shame, betrayals

emotion-filled quarry

stolen innocence

a thousand slashes upon her soul

older kin, once thought to be a prince

brick and mortar

hiding tears, embracing chaos

dwelling in darkness with its false sense of order

kids bearing kids

societal tricks, better learn quick

construct the walls, lock the lids

each new love lost

taking chance on romance

but built on distrust; oh, what a high cost

walls grow thicker

settles for joyless marriages

walls now symbols of “no love” sticker

till new love arrives

soul-mate man with heart in hand

says, “tear down walls and love survives”

she takes a chance

willing to bare all

still blocks out the world

but naked to her love

supported by his strength

she learns to stand tall

couple 1

© JW Thomas

10 thoughts on “Trust from Distrust

    • jwtatfbc July 30, 2016 / 3:38 am

      Thank you for the response, Cathy. That means the world to me coming from you, Partner in Poetry.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Mary Cathleen Clark July 30, 2016 / 3:46 am

    I like the way you took us through an unfulfilled life, full of wrong choices, sadness, and pain that led into dark places, then when all seemed lost, lifted that life into the light. It’s nice to see that there are happy endings, my friend. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • jwtatfbc July 30, 2016 / 3:49 am

      Unfortunately, many of us take such detours in life. But speaking from experience, my friend, I know that there are still happy endings out there for those who don’t give up entirely, and are willing to take a chance when the right opportunity comes around.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark July 30, 2016 / 3:55 am

        Wow, did I mess up!! I’m on my phone.
        Not appreciating the sun if you’ve never felt the rain could apply here.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc July 30, 2016 / 3:58 am

        It’s okay, my friend, I’ll take care of it later. And I agree with your quote.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark July 30, 2016 / 4:03 am

        I think it’s a line in an old Waylon Jennings song called Rainy Day Woman. At least that’s where I heard it. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc July 30, 2016 / 4:06 am

        I’ll look it up, but it definitely fits. But you know me, my dear friend, I like to keep positives and hope alive.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark July 30, 2016 / 4:07 am

        Being positive makes for a happier life.
        I’m off to bed now, my wonderful friend. Good night and sweet dreams.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc July 30, 2016 / 4:09 am

        Good night and sweet dreams to you as well, Pretty Lady.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

