Misfit Angels

scan0063

 

They’re the ones you rarely think about

They’re the ones you never praise

Until a time comes when you need them

You won’t give them the time of day

 

They’re the misfit angels

Heroes you thought could never be

Always taken for granted

Till they perform unexpectedly

 

They’re the ones you pass without seeing

They’re the ones who never win

You’ve tagged them deadbeats and rejects

Yet they help you again and again

 

They’re the ones who do the menial tasks

They’re the ones with no task at all

But they still hear, see, and feel

And often answer when you call

 

They’re the ones lost among the masses

They’re the ones; faceless ghosts who seem so small

Then desperation finally finds you

And those once small are now standing tall

 

They’re the misfit angels

Heroes you thought could never be

Always taken for granted

Till they perform unexpectedly

 

They’re the ones never seen with halos

They’re the ones never wearing crowns

Wingless creatures; yet you need them

For without them life’s sins abound

scan0061

“We finally got our wings.”

© JW Thomas

16 thoughts on “Misfit Angels

    • jwtatfbc July 24, 2016 / 3:24 am

      I thank you for your response. And although I don’t feel the same about Kanye that this young man in the video does (because of his temper tantrums and selfishness), this young man at least looks at what he can contribute that is different than everyone else.

      Liked by 2 people

      • somethingwrongwiththeworld July 24, 2016 / 7:12 pm

        …And maybe these kids are really on to something… change for the better. For the next generation. I don’t know anything about kanye, but these kids are a sign of hope in a seemingly dark future. Maybe. 🙂 Have a great evening! -TJ

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Mary Cathleen Clark July 24, 2016 / 3:42 am

    I’ve found that those among us with the least seem to be the ones most willing to help their fellow man. Maybe it’s because they know what it’s like to have no one in times of need.
    Great poem, my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jwtatfbc July 24, 2016 / 3:44 am

      Thank you, Cathy. I always respect your opinion, and I know you help others when you can… even on simple things like the blogs.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark July 24, 2016 / 3:51 am

        I should do more…but I don’t. I’m a little on the selfish side, as most people are to one extent or another.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc July 24, 2016 / 3:54 am

        You can downplay it, my dear friend, but I know you have a good heart… and a hell of a lot of talent as well.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark July 24, 2016 / 4:03 am

        Well now, I think I could turn that around and say the same thing to you, my Partner in Poetry. You’re a talented writer, AND a good person.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc July 24, 2016 / 4:07 am

        Well, I appreciate that coming from you, my dear friend. After all, I’ve never known you to lie to me yet… haha (he said while he was blushing).

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark July 24, 2016 / 4:11 am

        And I won’t…how many times have I bugged you about semicolons? Only a brutally honest person would do such a horrible thing. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc July 24, 2016 / 4:13 am

        Busted for all the world to see… but I guess I deserved it… haha. And thank you for all your help in the past.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark July 24, 2016 / 4:23 am

        And I thank you for your help, in editing and other things, JW. I’m off to bed now, my wonderful friend. Good night and sweet dreams

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc July 24, 2016 / 4:24 am

        Good night and sweet dreams to you as well, Pretty Lady.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Poet Rummager July 28, 2016 / 11:30 am

    I enjoyed your poem very much and just realized that you drew the illustrations, as well! Nice work; especially Oliver and Hardy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jwtatfbc July 29, 2016 / 3:39 am

      Thank you for saying so, Rose. I appreciate that.

      Like

Leave a Reply

