Honest Injun

HonestInjun

I awoke in L.A.

and was lulled back to sleep

with promise of the American Dream

I was told to work hard

and to save what I made

then my life would be Peaches and Cream

 

So I worked like a slave

with my eye on the prize;

I held down two jobs while going to school

My first future crumbled

when my first marriage died;

tried to be honest, while others were cruel

 

Tried to be an “Honest Injun”

but wound-up as the fool

Grandfather tried to warn me

“They will abuse the Golden Rule”

Tried to be an “Honest Injun”

Forgot how the rich man schemed

System’s made by the corrupt

so the rest of us get reamed

 

My second future fell

wounded in the Army

and finding out the VA is a joke

Next went all my savings

in the crash of oh-nine;

was about to retire but now I’m broke

 

I was left to flounder

to starve and disappear

while Uncle Sam bailed out the crooked banks

They say that each of us

will get a fighting chance

but the gun they give us only shoots blanks

 

Tried to be an “Honest Injun”

but wound-up as the fool

Grandfather tried to warn me

“They will abuse the Golden Rule”

Tried to be an “Honest Injun”

Forgot how the rich man schemed

System’s made by the corrupt

so the rest of us get reamed

 

©JW Thomas

6 thoughts on “Honest Injun

    • jwtatfbc July 17, 2016 / 3:45 am

      Unfortunately, I do, my friend. And I don’t have a lot of nice things to say about the systems that keep spitting out the average person.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark July 17, 2016 / 3:48 am

        As long as big business and government stay in bed together, there’s not much hope in anything changing, my friend.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc July 17, 2016 / 3:50 am

        You’re right about that; along with all the special interest groups.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark July 17, 2016 / 3:58 am

        Things have gotten so out of hand, I think it would take a miracle to fix it now. I’m off to bed now, my friend. Good night and sweet dreams.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc July 17, 2016 / 4:00 am

        Thanks for your response, Cathy. And good night and sweet dreams to you as well, my dear partner in poetry.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

