Paid to Puppet

puppet1

Paid to puppet… hands, strings, and things

Paid to puppet… horns or halos with wings

I’m paid to puppet all season long

Don’t forget the dialogue; gotta’ sing the songs

Paid to puppet

We’ve got the shadowbox and the silhouettes

We’ve got the hand puppets and finger-puppets too

We work with strings on the marionettes

And don’t forget the dummies, cuz’ they won’t forget you

Paid to puppet

Full-figure… half-figure… bust only

Black light… no light… don’t matter

Little boy… little girl… white pony

Fat cat… winged bat… Mad Hatter

Paid to puppet

You’ve got traditional, like nursery rhymes

They’re good for a laugh with the whole kid crew

And there’s original for contemporary times;

How ‘bout the shoot um’ up… we just got you?

Paid to puppet

Kid party… big party… buck only

Babe party… sex party… adult matter

Fantasy… fancy-free… skull boney

Shakespeare… Galahad… blood spatter

Paid to puppet

So much better to be a puppeteer… than a puppet.

© JW Thomas

14 thoughts on “Paid to Puppet

  1. Poet Rummager June 23, 2016 / 10:22 pm

    I enjoyed your puppet show. What a wide spectrum of puppets we encounter throughout our lives! Yes, being a puppeteer sure seems a lot more fun. Excellent writing with a twist of sinister.

    Liked by 2 people

    • jwtatfbc June 24, 2016 / 12:39 am

      Thanks for the response, Rose. And I’m glad you recognized the subtle twist and that it’s about life and not just a show.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Mary Cathleen Clark June 24, 2016 / 3:42 am

    I think we would all prefer to be the one in charge, but life doesn’t always work out that way.
    Insightful writing, JW.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jwtatfbc June 24, 2016 / 3:44 am

      Thank you, my friend. Life definitely has a way of changing it up on us sometimes.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark June 24, 2016 / 3:49 am

        Yes, whether we like it or not. Big government and big business are the master puppeteers.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc June 24, 2016 / 3:52 am

        So true, my friend. And lets not forget how pop culture strings the younger generation along in each generation.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark June 24, 2016 / 3:57 am

        Yes, I think most of us were strung along at that time in our lives…yours truly included. Most eventually cut those strings, but some dance to someone else’s tune their entire lives.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc June 24, 2016 / 4:02 am

        Wow, this is the first time you’re more of an optimist than I am; for I believe most people are followers, even though many claim not to be. But as one who has been in many leadership positions I saw the group or mob mentality of followers far too often. They stay attached to certain strings most of their lives.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark June 24, 2016 / 4:08 am

        In my life, I have met quite a few people who march to their own drummer, my friend. You included.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc June 24, 2016 / 4:11 am

        I agree that there is a large number who try to; but far less than those who go with the flow, or don’t want to rock the boat, or any number of other cliche’s that they use as an excuse. But if that’s what suits them, it’s fine by me. I just prefer beating my own drum (which you’ve seen pictures of, my friend).

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc June 24, 2016 / 4:18 am

        Well, as one lover of music to another, I truly do enjoy it. In fact, I plan to keep on playing even when they nail my coffin down. And playing my way!

        Like

      • Mary Cathleen Clark June 24, 2016 / 4:20 am

        I’m sure you will, JW. I’m off to bed now, my wonderful friend. Good night and sweet dreams.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc June 24, 2016 / 4:22 am

        Good night and sweet dreams to you as well, Pretty Lady.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

