Waya: See the Wolf

wolf cub1

 

See the wolf.

 

See the wolf pup.

See it nip.

See it yip.

See it roll.

See it grow.

See it cute.

See it cuddle.

See it whine in the mud puddle.

See its fur shine in the sun.

See the twinkle in its eye,

the joy of life,

and first howl at the sky.

He told Moon a magnificent tale,

how he circled and circled

and caught his own tail.

He ran fast… and then faster

until his tail was in reach.

He bit down and he yelped

and Hawk gave a screech:

“a lesson it is,

a lesson to teach.”

Moon did agree

and spoke quite plain:

“Don’t bite your own tail,

don’t cause yourself pain.

The ruckus you cause

could easily bring Man,

and at this point pup,

you’d fit in his hand.”

 

See the wolf.

 

See the wolf grown.

See it bay.

See it play.

See it prowl.

See it growl.

See it chase.

See it bound.

It’s canis lupis:

much more than a hound.

See it hunt:

part of the Pack.

See how deadly:

Nature’s way,

removes the weak

each passing day.

Strength of limb,

strong of heart,

oh how he thought

he’d make a new start.

A challenge he did make

with the Alpha of the Pack.

It was brutal… and muddy

and they both ended bloody.

But he failed in his attack.

Ousted to roam

alone,

a lone wolf.

He bit the paw

that led them all

before his time to lead.

He failed the test,

now begin the quest,

maturity is earned in the deed.

 

See the wolf.

 

See the wolf rogue.

See it stare.

See it glare.

See it hide.

See it glide.

See its effort.

See its ease.

The smell of prey born on the breeze.

Hunter,

ganohalidohi:

He wins a mate

and makes a stand:

marks his turf,

defends his den.

Alpha male, he bears it well:

this scar and that scar

record his whole tale.

“How goes the Wolf?”

asks Moon of Hawk.

“Waya is good

as you yourself know.

I’ve watched you guide him

with your light and your glow.”

Wolf did howl

to Hawk and to Moon:

“One with insight,

the other so bright,

you both taught me well.

It’s time to take leave

and leave me to live,

go seek a new tale

for you each to tell.”

wolf1

© JW Thomas

17 thoughts on “Waya: See the Wolf

  1. avaswan June 4, 2016 / 11:45 pm

    Loved your story of the wolf. It truly captures the heart and life of the wolf pak and how they function. You give heart to your poems.

    Liked by 2 people

    • jwtatfbc June 5, 2016 / 3:18 am

      I thank you for taking the time to read it and respond.

      Like

  2. Mary Cathleen Clark June 5, 2016 / 3:47 am

    I agree with Avaswan above. And I loved the flow…it put me in mind of Dick and Jane, the very first reader I had in school, back in the age of dinosaurs. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • jwtatfbc June 5, 2016 / 3:48 am

      It was indeed written for a young crowd, my dear friend. And I thank you for the response. Your opinion means a lot to me.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark June 5, 2016 / 3:53 am

        You’re welcome, JW. I can imagine it with illustrations…would be nice for the young ones, has that sing-song quality they enjoy. Did you have the Dick and Jane reader in the 1st grade? I know my son had that very same book when he started school.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc June 5, 2016 / 3:55 am

        I’m glad you can imagine it that way. I was thinking of a series with various other animals. And, yes, my friend, I’m old enough to remember the Dick and Jane books.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Mary Cathleen Clark June 5, 2016 / 4:00 am

        You could do it…I know that by reading your Native American poetry, the many references to animals liberally sprinkled throughout it. Though not a child, I really like this piece, my friend.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc June 5, 2016 / 4:02 am

        Thank you, Cathy. I would most likely sprinkle a bit of the Native American in them like this one with Moon and Hawk, etc. And I’m glad you like the piece. That means a lot from a talented writer like yourself.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark June 5, 2016 / 4:07 am

        Oh, Lord, here comes the blush…. ☺️ Where’s a table to crawl under? You have boatloads of talent, JW; you can draw as well as write, plus play musical instruments, and do other creative things. I am just a writer.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc June 5, 2016 / 4:11 am

        Yes, but you’re a heck of a writer. And I admire real talent when I see it. And you look good when you blush, my friend. And it looks like you’re trying to make me blush as well… ha ha

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark June 5, 2016 / 4:13 am

        We’ll just blush together, JW. 😊 I’m off to bed now. Goodnight and sweet dreams, my wonderful friend.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc June 5, 2016 / 4:14 am

        Sounds good. And good night and sweet dreams to you as well, Pretty Lady.

        Liked by 1 person

    • jwtatfbc June 11, 2016 / 4:47 pm

      Thank you, Sarah. I’m glad you liked it. Wolves have always topped my favorite list… along with tigers.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Miss Gentileschi June 11, 2016 / 7:30 pm

        You´re welcome! 🙂 Oh, yes, tigers are such fascinating animals! I did paintings of both animals among others, maybe you´d like to see them? You can find them under the categories < paintings < animals 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc June 12, 2016 / 2:59 am

        I checked out your pictures, and did indeed like the tiger, the wolves, and also the polar bears (that was really cute).

        Liked by 1 person

      • Miss Gentileschi June 12, 2016 / 1:18 pm

        Thank you!! 🙂 The last one was a birthday present I did for my mom 🙂 Have a lovely sunday!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

