Raping Mother Earth

Mother Earth did not need Freud to come along with words like Oedipus Complex.

She has known, intimately, many men born of Earth with inner desires to wed and bed their mother.

The immaturity of such fantasies foolishly mistake lust for love.

And when rebuffed they respond in infantile manners for that which Mother Earth knows will lead them down a destructive path.

Some go no farther, but many team with likeminded siblings and violently rape Mother Earth.

Greedy, lustful, spoiled children addicted to their deranged desires based on selfish motivation and the misinterpretations of what constitutes treasure, wealth, and the real riches of Mother Earth.

Mother Earth’s daughters are not innocent; they share responsibility for the ongoing rape.

Much of what is ripped from beneath the skirts of Mother Earth – in every orifice and deep within her bowels – is used to tickle the fancy and fashion of women worldwide.

And if they encourage the rape of Mother Earth in order to enjoy the pleasure bought through greed, should they really be surprised when the same childish men rape them?

 

© JW Thomas

10 thoughts on “Raping Mother Earth

  1. Mary Cathleen Clark June 1, 2016 / 3:53 am

    Hmm…I just don’t know. I never thought that having a pair of topaz earrings made me worthy of being raped. Maybe I am not getting your meaning here…

    Liked by 1 person

    • jwtatfbc June 1, 2016 / 3:56 am

      First off, my friend, it’s being used as a metaphor. But when people turn a blind eye to the greedy abuses of others it should be no surprise when those same people eventually turn on them if it means fulfilling a selfish want.

      Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc June 1, 2016 / 4:05 am

        That’s okay, Cathy. But you know me, my friend. I would never, under any circumstances, insinuate actual rape. It is strictly a metaphor like all the other sexual connotations in the piece.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark June 1, 2016 / 4:09 am

        I didn’t think so, JW. 🙂
        I use some metaphors in writing, but I’m more a “what you see is what you get” writer.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc June 1, 2016 / 4:11 am

        I’m glad you asked, though. I would hate for you or anyone else to get that idea. At least now it’s spelled out so that everyone knows.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark June 1, 2016 / 4:16 am

        I would lay odds the vast majority of people would get your meaning. Yours is not the first piece of poetry that has somewhat confused me, and I doubt it’ll be the last.
        I’m off to bed now, my wonderful friend. Good night and sweet dreams.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc June 1, 2016 / 4:17 am

        And good night and sweet dreams to you as well, Pretty Lady.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

