So I am Told

proud shadow1

I am a byproduct of civilization

Blood from two of the five

civilized tribes flows in me

So I am told

Tribes of the Southeast

Why is the Southeast not my home?

Because of the Trail of Tears

So I am told

Destination

Oklahoma

New roots for ancestral kin

So I am told

Why is Oklahoma not my home?

Because of the “New Deal”

So I am told

Placate the politician

Vacate the reservation

Paddy-cake a new direction

Earn more money

Have jingle-jangle jeans

Forget your language

Homicide your Spirit Guide

Be a “real” American

So I am told

A few went to Texas

A few to Southern Cal

Indian maiden finds white-eyed Prince

Indian brave finds white-eyed gal

Broken water sets me free

Born in Long Beach

California

As far away from my ancestral home

as I can get

without getting wet

So I am told

Separated geographically

Separated culturally

So I am told

But I have lived

loved

longed

lost

and laughed

But never with a true connection to kin

My inspiration to begin again

A byproduct of civilization

So I am told

More often than not – civilization sucks

© JW Thomas

6 thoughts on “So I am Told

  1. Mary Cathleen Clark May 30, 2016 / 3:48 am

    A heartfelt poem, JW. It comes across as sounding as if you never got to know that side of yourself as well as you would had liked to.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark May 30, 2016 / 3:56 am

        That’s sad. My Native American blood was passed to me from my mother’s side, but I know very little about the culture. Sometimes, it’s wiser to leave the past to the past and what might have been, and remember the good that lays ahead.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc May 30, 2016 / 4:01 am

        I’m not sorry for all the study I’ve done into that side of my culture, but there is no way that I can truly feel what I would have felt had I lived the life that my ancestors, or even present relatives did and do. I just have to be content with the knowledge that I am who I am from my own experiences as a half-breed.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark May 30, 2016 / 4:05 am

        That’s about all any of us can ask for–contentment. I’m off to bed now, my wonderful friend. Good night and sweet dreams.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc May 30, 2016 / 4:06 am

        And good night and sweet dreams to you as well, Pretty Lady.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

