Beware the Scam

writingtiles

I caution the creative individual

   who yearns for artistic acceptance:

Beware the scam, as poison.

Poison corrodes confidence in anyone who trusts:

     breeds an over-cautious nature for sowing

    in a field that requires daily planting.

   It inspires naught, but negativism

     where positive thinking must abound.

    It deceives with tempting novelties

     to stroke the fragile ego, so easily bought:

      thus, clouding the artistic soul

         which should yearn for the challenge

          of perfecting poetry and prose.

   And to you, who would scam the writer —

      the artist —

        the dreamer.

   You too should take heed,

    and mend your ways while you can.

    For the pen is mightier, as the saying goes,

      and time, after all, wounds all heels.

© JW Thomas

17 thoughts on “Beware the Scam

  1. Kay May 24, 2016 / 2:20 am

    This so true, and I especially love the last line.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jwtatfbc May 24, 2016 / 3:09 am

      Yep; what goes around comes around, as they say. Thanks for the response, Kay.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Mary Cathleen Clark May 24, 2016 / 3:48 am

    A writer needs a sharp mind and a thick skin to deal with outside influences. Some poison comes in the form of so-called literary agents who are out to fleece the newbies, and criticism–I’m not talking constructive criticism here–made to wound, usually caused by jealousy of an individual’s talent.

    Liked by 2 people

    • jwtatfbc May 24, 2016 / 3:50 am

      Sad, but very true, my friend. And I’ve also seen it in other creative fields as well.

      Liked by 1 person

    • jwtatfbc May 24, 2016 / 3:56 am

      Very true and very appropriate, considering how they hinder or dash the dreams of others.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark May 24, 2016 / 4:02 am

        I actually had to read the last line a couple of times to get it, then when the lightbulb came on above my head, I thought, well, duh, Cathy. 😀 I need to send you a link to a woman’s blog I follow who, like you, can take any subject and make it into a poem. I’ve been meaning to, and keep forgetting.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc May 24, 2016 / 4:04 am

        Well, I’m glad you got it. I know you’re tired working hard to get ready to send your manuscript out; so it’s understandable. And you know how to get in touch with me, my friend.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc May 24, 2016 / 4:11 am

        Considering some of the circumstances in your wonderful writings I think I should be hiding under the bed with a claim like that, my dear imaginative friend… ha ha Of course telling you makes me easily catch-able.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark May 24, 2016 / 4:13 am

        Yep, just look under the bed. 😀
        I’m off to bed now, my wonderful friend. Good night and sweet dreams.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc May 24, 2016 / 4:14 am

        Good night and sweet dreams to you as well, Pretty Lady.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. LionAroundWriting May 24, 2016 / 4:17 am

    Great piece.
    There are many poisons, and frequently the most poisonous is ourserlves in our own self criticism.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Elizabeth Helmich May 24, 2016 / 1:07 pm

    Very true, and yes, in all creative fields. It’s the constant struggle. For me, l’ve dealt with a lot of rejection my other field, so writing has been a great outlet to simply be myself, without constraints. I’m only here to please me, which is a very liberating feeling!
    “It deceives with tempting novelties
    to stroke the fragile ego, so easily bought” – yes!

    Liked by 1 person

      • Elizabeth Helmich May 25, 2016 / 3:48 pm

        My pleasure to read you!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

