A Written Memory

marypickfordwriting

With pen in hand, I take to write

that which unveils through inner sight.

A spark of memory intertwined with past,

and hope the pen will make it last.

When first to touch upon the sheet,

it clears the webs through visions sweet.

Soon, thoughts do dance in proper disorder,

extending their distance between margin borders.

Making revisions to each bit of copy:

keeping the groomed, and discarding the sloppy.

Soon there it is… for all now to read,

that which I lived, and relive at thought speed.

© JW Thomas

11 thoughts on “A Written Memory

    • jwtatfbc May 21, 2016 / 10:27 pm

      Thank you for the comment, it’s really appreciated.

      Like

    • jwtatfbc May 22, 2016 / 3:39 am

      Thank you, my friend. Especially from someone who knows the process well.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark May 22, 2016 / 3:41 am

        Me thinks you know it every bit as well as I do, my friend. You do have a way with words–and other forms of creativity. A man of many talents. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc May 22, 2016 / 3:43 am

        Well, thank you, Pretty Lady. That makes me feel that all the hours working at it are worthwhile… if it touches someone. Just like your talents touch me and many others.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark May 22, 2016 / 3:47 am

        Ah, but I am a one-trick pony…I just write. You, on the other hand, write, draw, play musical instruments, and probably other things I know nothing about. Multitalented…I admire that, JW.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc May 22, 2016 / 3:51 am

        You keep that up and I won’t be able to get my hat on, with such a swelled head. I’ve been lucky to be able to engage in areas that mean a lot to me, and ways that allow me to express myself. I guess I needed it, because in my youth, growing up where I grew up, in such a rough environment, I couldn’t express myself the way I wanted to. So I’ve sort of made up for it as I’ve got older.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark May 22, 2016 / 3:57 am

        Some of the most talented people in the creative arts have used a none-too-pleasant past as fuel for inspiration. Pain has formed the foundation of many great works.
        I’m off to bed now, my wonderful friend. Good night and sweet dreams.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc May 22, 2016 / 3:59 am

        What you said is sad, but true.

        Good night and sweet dreams to you as well, Pretty Lady.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

