The Empty Room

empty-room1

I’m standing in the doorway

to the empty room,

viewing what remains,

hardly anything at all.

There’s a vase on the mantel

just above the fireplace,

and a set of velvet curtains

left hanging on the wall.

It seems so empty now,

compared to how it use to be.

Though appearance is deceiving,

it’s full of memories.

If these old walls could talk

I think of what they’d say

of all that has transpired

since we moved in that day.

An empty room is never empty,

it always has something inside.

It’s sometimes hard to see

in the times when it can hide.

The furniture is gone,

and walls are standing bare.

Yet eyes opened or closed,

I still see something there.

Like that old threshold

I carried you through,

to start a brand new life

that lasted many years.

There’s the window pane

that pains me to see it now.

‘Cause you stood there staring

when you couldn’t hold the tears.

There’s the winding banister

that we’d both slide down.

I’d catch you in my arms,

and we’d pause to embrace.

Nope… this room isn’t empty,

and it’ll never be,

for everywhere I turn

I still can see your face.

I turn to see you leaving

out the door that brought you in.

Heading down the walkway,

walking hand-in-hand with him.

I smelled your sweet perfume

when you slowly passed me by.

Did you feel me too,

for once again you start to cry?

Sadly, my time is up,

‘cause I know you’ll be alright.

You started life anew,

time has healed you from that night.

The night Toby told you

I was lost and could not be found.

Somewhere by the fallen bridge,

they say I must’ve drowned.

© JW Thomas

16 thoughts on “The Empty Room

  1. Mary Cathleen Clark May 21, 2016 / 3:52 am

    Oh Lord, JW, this broke my heart. You took it to a place I didn’t see it going at all. I imagined quite a few endings as I read, but not the one that came.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jwtatfbc May 21, 2016 / 3:55 am

      Thank you, Cathy. I’m glad I could bring it a different twist that’s not easy to see coming.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark May 21, 2016 / 3:57 am

        I didn’t see it at all. First I though she died, then I though she left him, and then I found out what was really going on. A wonderful story, my friend.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc May 21, 2016 / 3:58 am

        Thank you, Cathy. It always means a lot coming from you, my friend.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark May 21, 2016 / 4:05 am

        There’s a movie I saw about 15 years that your story brought to mind. When I can remember the name (I do recall Robin Williams starred in it) I’ll tell you what it is. I have it on a DVD here someplace.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc May 21, 2016 / 4:06 am

        I’d be grateful, my friend. And you know how to contact me. And I like R. Williams.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark May 21, 2016 / 4:15 am

        “What Dreams May Come”–I’m almost certain that’s the name of the movie. Cuba Gooding Jr. Is in it also.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc May 21, 2016 / 4:16 am

        I recall the title. It’s been ages since I’ve seen that, so it’s about time to review it again.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark May 21, 2016 / 4:22 am

        It’s one of those that I didn’t see the ending coming at all. And the love between the husband and wife…
        I think it’s probably in my list of top ten movies.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc May 21, 2016 / 4:24 am

        It was definitely colorful and character driven… that’s for sure.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc May 21, 2016 / 4:27 am

        Good night and sweet dreams to you as well, Pretty Lady.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Monochrome nightmares May 21, 2016 / 2:12 pm

    Excellent.
    A very sad but engaging poem.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

