Realistic perspective

Jerry GI #1

I awaited the arrival of a good man bearing my personal effects and a fond farewell as I am about to go help my Uncle Sam. From my lofty perch I had a bird’s eye perspective of the downtown street beside the Conestoga.

A conversation by concerned citizens – concerned for what I have no clue – was beginning to boil over as the ground heat mingled with humidity as the bright June day morphed into a muggy night.

The simple scene shifted surrealistically to suggest a somewhat satisfactory slant to my present predicament and perspective.

Below my third floor window the party of the first part pulled a pistol and took a pot-shot at the party of the second part. And the party of the second part, now understandably pissed, pulled his piece and popped away at the party of the first part.

A mere five rotations of Mother Earth since turning seventeen and I found a peculiar pleasure in the cordite perfume and pop-and-pow performance. It was the Spirit Guide confirming my decision to leave.

It was not an abundance of patriotism that initially prodded me to answer Uncle Sam’s call. I figured if I have to live where there’s shooting… I might as well get paid for it.

Fly the friendly skies0001

 

© JW Thomas

16 thoughts on “Realistic perspective

    • jwtatfbc May 10, 2016 / 3:42 am

      I wanted to show the surrealistic perspective, my friend. I didn’t gain my patriotism until after being in awhile. And that patriotism is strictly for my country, not the system.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark May 10, 2016 / 3:47 am

        I understood your intention, JW. The last line just made me think of my own reasoning process when I was that age.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc May 10, 2016 / 3:50 am

        Yeah, it’s kind of like you mentioning that “youth is wasted on the young” in a previous conversation. I’m sure our decisions would be different now.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark May 10, 2016 / 3:55 am

        Probably so, but I know our life experiences make us who we are, and if we were to go back and change one single thing–either good or bad–that happened in our lives, we would not be the persons we are today.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc May 10, 2016 / 3:57 am

        True, although much of our personality is set while very young. But there would be a difference with each change even if it’s small. I agree.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark May 10, 2016 / 4:03 am

        Each occurrence in every life can lead down a different path…similar to Quantum Mechanics. Endless possibilities. It can be mind boggling to think about.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc May 10, 2016 / 4:06 am

        True, my friend. A bit too much for this post, I think. Just like string theory and different dimensions. But I agree with what you said. It can definitely boggle the mind.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark May 10, 2016 / 4:10 am

        I try not to think about it too much…gives me a headache. 😀 I’ll just read a good story instead.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc May 10, 2016 / 4:10 am

        Or write one with your fantastic talent, my friend.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc May 10, 2016 / 4:21 am

        Good night and sweet dreams to you as well, Pretty Lady.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Monochrome nightmares May 10, 2016 / 7:26 pm

    An excellent piece.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

