Mother of Iron

mom-flowers-300x191

 

Mother of Iron… Mother of Steel

Goes through the hard times, but she can still feel

Keeping the faith… the faith alive

Keeping the faith… the faith alive

I’ve seen her with nothing

I’ve seen her with cupboards bare

I’ve seen her with good reason to be bitter

But she still finds strength to care

She’s stronger than steel

Yet softer than silk

And her love is far better for us

Than even natural healthy Mother’s milk

She is life giving rain

To weather beaten hearts

She’s sunshine dancing on waves

Nautically steering, while viewing her charts

She’s Proverbs thirty-one

To all those close to touch

No thoughts of ever changing

For as she is, we love her so much

Mother of Iron… Mother of Steel

Mother of Pearl from above

Mother of Sunshine… Mother of Rain

Bearing the burdens and easing the pain

Mother of Iron… Mother of Steel

Goes through the hard times, but she can still feel

Keeping the faith… the faith alive

Keeping the faith… the faith alive

© JW Thomas

[believe it’s a reblog, but cannot locate original]

10 thoughts on “Mother of Iron

    • jwtatfbc May 8, 2016 / 3:40 am

      Thank you, my friend. And there’s definitely bit of her in you as well, my friend.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark May 8, 2016 / 3:45 am

        Thank you, JW, but I could never live up to her example. Even after –or maybe because of–the passing of years since she died, I can look back and see what a remarkable person she was. I was blessed to have her and my dad as parents.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc May 8, 2016 / 3:47 am

        I know you were, my friend. But through all our talks I’ve seen the same traits you attribute to her in you; after all, you are her daughter. But an original as well. And I definitely wish you a happy Mother’s Day tomorrow.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark May 8, 2016 / 3:50 am

        Thank you, JW. I’ll be with my son, and time spent with him is always a happy occasion. 🙂 I’m off to bed now. Good night and sweet dreams, my wonderful friend.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc May 8, 2016 / 3:51 am

        Happy as it should be, my friend. Good night and sweet dreams to you as well, Pretty Lady.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

