Metis’: bred in a barrio

 

Choctaw, Cherokee, and Welsh: a fair-skinned metis’ raised in the bowels of a Southern California barrio in the culture of Ramirez, Romo, and Reyes: friend and foe.

Inca, Mayan, Aztec, and a cut of Spanish with Apache, Tex-Mex, and Mestiso sexed-in for good measure; a hot-blooded community communicating in Spanglish, fiestas, murals, music, faith, and blood.

The sixties generation got lost in the translation; no middle-class LSD and grass; no peace, free love, and have a flower… just poverty and shotgun blasts, and street love by rape, position, or hour.

No one was feelin’ groovy, there was no purple haze – except pollution – though some existed hollow and numb, and stumbled through their days with tequila shots, cactus juice, and cheap-ass wine that rotted their insides.

No hippies ever found our hood, but hipsters walked the block in flared-out fashion that cost all their cash… so they always tried to hustle a buck.

I saw flower-power VW bugs only on TV between Lone Ranger and Tonto and the Cisco Kid, or Speedy Gonzales at three.

I tried to like Bonanza because of Little Joe, and Johnny Madrid in Lancer really stole the show; but while they placated my fair-skin side my indigenous side felt a twinge.

The color-code in the Hollywood West, in fact, every period and place, told half of me to live with pride and the other half in disgrace – but only if I chose to buy what they were selling.

I shunned the used car tact – sell the sizzle not the bacon – I’d rather see truth, common sense, hope, and a genuine connection.

I favor a new direction in a life I choose to lead.

 

© JW Thomas

16 thoughts on “Metis’: bred in a barrio

  1. Mary Cathleen Clark April 30, 2016 / 3:45 am

    You have such a way with words, my friend. This is a combination poem/story/commentary. And I can tell, it comes from the heart.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 30, 2016 / 3:49 am

        I’m sure it wasn’t easy growing up in that environment, but you took negatives and turned them into positives through your writing.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 30, 2016 / 3:50 am

        It was definitely better than the alternatives. Many friends never saw their 21st birthday.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 30, 2016 / 3:56 am

        I’m sure they didn’t…and the sad thing is, it still happens on a daily basis in neighborhoods in our country.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 30, 2016 / 3:58 am

        It does. Not much different than your post today on a similar poverty induced circumstance when hope is taken out of the equation.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 30, 2016 / 4:05 am

        Yes, you take away hope, and there’s nothing left to hang on to. But I think you are a person who has always had hope for a brighter tomorrow. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 30, 2016 / 4:07 am

        I try to. That’s why I prefer people coming out of the dark into a positive light by the end of most stories and poems, etc. But I also understand the opposite if done well.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 30, 2016 / 4:12 am

        I’ll surprise you one of these days by posting a story that has some humor and a positive ending. Believe it or not, I do have one story that contains both. I’ll have to dig it out and post it. It’s one that I sold to an eZine a few years ago. I think you’ll like it. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 30, 2016 / 4:14 am

        But you also show the message through the dark on several, just like today’s post. And that brings the thought provoking quality that good writers have, my friend.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 30, 2016 / 4:18 am

        Well, I know a lot of your posts have made me sit back and soak it all in. Sometimes, I read them several times, and in each pass, discover another layer. I like those hmm moments.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 30, 2016 / 4:19 am

        I thank you for saying so, Cathy. You know that means a lot coming from you.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 30, 2016 / 4:23 am

        I enjoy reading something that makes me think, which your work does. When I want escapism, I watch The Walking Dead. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 30, 2016 / 4:26 am

        No wonder we work so good together, my friend. A pretty lady with a head on her shoulders… and the right priorities… ha ha

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 30, 2016 / 4:29 am

        You’re most welcome, my friend. And good night and sweet dreams to you, Pretty Lady.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

