Music

scan0122

Any musician can play notes.

But if they do not infuse their life into the tune…

If they do not form the movement with honest emotion…

If their rhythm is not based on valid values…

If they cannot celebrate the syncopation…

If they harmonize without instilling hope, or mete’ out melodies without a message…

And if they have not sacrificed enough for each arrangement, or bled enough to interpret the piece, they will never master music or create their magnum opus.

Jerry drumming #1

© JW Thomas

12 thoughts on “Music

  1. Mary Cathleen Clark April 28, 2016 / 3:42 am

    Well said, JW. I think the same can be applied to painting and writing…blood is spilled in the creation process,

    Liked by 2 people

    • jwtatfbc April 28, 2016 / 3:43 am

      Yes, my friend. All creativity takes the birth and the blood.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 28, 2016 / 3:48 am

        A lot of time, it’s painful, but in the end, rewarding. I remember the first time I held my son; everything I had gone through up to that point in my life that resulted in his birth, had been worth it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 28, 2016 / 3:49 am

        My perspective watching my son being born was a lot less painful, my friend. But the correlation to artistic creativity is beautiful.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 28, 2016 / 3:54 am

        I’ve always said my son is my greatest accomplishment in life. Most mamas feel that way, whatever their official careers might be.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 28, 2016 / 3:55 am

        And I respect you for such a view, my friend. And I’m sure most do; unfortunately I saw a lot of the opposite in my investigative days as well.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 28, 2016 / 4:01 am

        That’s sad…
        But back to the music…I think you have knowledge of what you speak of, that you feel the music…

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 28, 2016 / 4:02 am

        I do, my friend. It’s been a way for me to communicate during times when I wasn’t good at communicating in other forms.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 28, 2016 / 4:08 am

        And good night and sweet dreams to you, Pretty Lady.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

