Metis’

I am of two peoples

I am mixed-blood

One people call me Metis’

One people call me Half-Breed

But all my blood is red

I am told I’m Welsh

I have never lived in Wales

I have never even seen Wales

except those in the sea

I am told I’m Indian

I have reservations regarding many things

I have visited many reservations

I have even made reservations

But I have never lived on one

Am I Welsh without seeing Wales?

Am I Indian without residing on a reservation?

Heritage is inherited

so I am told

My father’s blood

My mother’s blood

They have intercourse within me

 

© JW Thomas

14 thoughts on “Metis’

  1. Deb April 27, 2016 / 1:24 am

    Pretty deep. Forget what you are told…what do you think you are?:-). Loved it.

    Liked by 2 people

    • jwtatfbc April 27, 2016 / 3:35 am

      That can be frustrating, my friend.

      Like

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 27, 2016 / 3:40 am

        I had said something about it seems as if your mixed heritage has led to introspection, which in turn, has led to some great poetry. Have you ever noticed you can’t quite pull it all back together when you make a lengthy comment, and then lose it somewhere in cyberspace?

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 27, 2016 / 3:41 am

        Yes, I’ve noticed that. But thank you for your comment. It’s true; especially during the period I had to hunt for one side of my heritage.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 27, 2016 / 3:43 am

        I found enough for satisfaction and contentment.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 27, 2016 / 3:45 am

        Good, we all need that contentment. 🙂
        I’m off to bed, JW. Goodnight and sweet dreams.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 27, 2016 / 3:45 am

        Yes we do. Good night and sweet dreams, Pretty Lady.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Monochrome nightmares April 27, 2016 / 7:20 pm

    An excellent piece of writing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

