Found Wanting

Running errands

Being productive

A chance crossing

Her and me

Glance

Mere glimpse

passing by

Her smile fades

Smirk forms

Brow dips

Squints

huffs

turns head

rolls eyes

Superiority

Inferiority

I have been judged

and found wanting

Filled app out

Handed in

Don’t call us

We’ll call you

If interested

Ring-a-ling

Interested

Look good on paper

Just what we want

That’s great

Don’t be late

Never

Hardly ever

Punctuate

the punctual

Selling self

Commodity

Necessity

Timely

Interview

Ushered in

No time to shake

First glance

a glimpse

Eye-to-eye

Tells all

I am not

what he imagined

I have been judged

and found wanting

I marvel at the audacity

that accompanies

their skill

Seconds too long

Briefest moments

Assumptions

Deductions

Conclusions

They know all

there is about me

in their minds

Their actions judge them

and they are found wanting

©JW Thomas

11 thoughts on “Found Wanting

  1. Kay April 25, 2016 / 10:23 pm

    I think that’s true. Those judgmental behaviors speak more about the person doing the judging!

    Liked by 2 people

    • jwtatfbc April 25, 2016 / 10:25 pm

      That’s so true, Kay. I studied psychology in college, and it is a clear sign of insecurity on the part of the one that judges.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 26, 2016 / 3:42 am

        When I was younger, I was quick to judge others. I realized before long I wasn’t as wise as I thought I was, that there is much more to people than meets the eye.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 26, 2016 / 3:44 am

        I think many of us go through stages on that issue when we’re young. Hopefully we all get to the point that you did and learn that we can learn something from, and find good, in most people.

        Liked by 1 person

    • jwtatfbc April 26, 2016 / 3:56 am

      You’re right, my friend. Good night and sweet dreams to you as well, Pretty Lady.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

