American Poets?

Wind brought the words

I heard it called waves of air

Claims of natural talent

Red blood

Red skin

Red clay

Erdrich is grandiose

Momaday the master

From oral tradition

to ink stains on paper

No treaty for creators

The hoop circle complete

Give air to the truth

say the warriors of the words

The Great American Poet

A spirit whispers

Whitman is dethroned

Are there real American poets?

Crane is shelved

Ginsberg is shackled

Poe is Poe

All Wasichus

Metamorphosis

Symbols by Silko

Howl with Harjo

Share through Young Bear

Don’t swim with Matchimanitou

Word warriors

Unmasked

Never saw the face of Death

No war honors

No spirit guide

False vision quest

Trickster’s prints are present

Socio-political activism

Public war of publicity

Market you

Market me

Forked-tongue talk

Hate-debaters

Great Spirit Father

and Mother Earth People

When we walk the Wasichu way

the strategy betrays

Coyote plays

Our people lose Integrity

who is drowned by Publicity

and stumbles in darkness

beneath the murky waters

of Matchimanitou

© JW Thomas

12 thoughts on “American Poets?

      • jwtatfbc April 24, 2016 / 3:39 am

        It’s not always evil, a lot of times it’s a practical joker, but there isn’t a lot of positives attached to him.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 24, 2016 / 3:41 am

        I suppose in every culture, there has to be a scapegoat. Someone’s gotta take the blame. Wolf is considered different, though, I think.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 24, 2016 / 3:42 am

        Yes, it appears to be that way. And yes, Wolf is very different. Very noble, in fact.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 24, 2016 / 3:45 am

        I thought so. 🙂 I’m not very familiar with Native American culture, but I can tell from your poetry that you have studied it, my friend. It shines through.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 24, 2016 / 3:47 am

        It just sort of stuck with me after I did all that studying into that side of my family tree, my friend. More for its beauty and symbolism than any meta-physical thoughts.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 24, 2016 / 3:50 am

        I agree 100%. And thank you for saying so. I appreciate it coming from you, my friend.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 24, 2016 / 3:52 am

        Good night and sweet dreams to you as well, Pretty Lady.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

