Masters of the World?

[Thoughts for Earth-Day.]

 

Can we tell the four winds when, where, and how to blow?

Can we tell Otter he must be as solemn and thoughtful as Great Horned Owl… or prove to Barn Owl it is us “Who-who” he seeks?

Can we tell Hawk and Eagle to soar no more?

Can we tell Rabbit that procreation with such fervor merely soils his reputation, and casts no shame upon us for our limited output?

Can we ground Bee indefinitely because he does not meet our aviation specifications?

Can we have Firefly’s light show cancelled in order to conserve energy?

Can we command noble Thunder to whisper his love-song to Lady Lightning? Or demand Wolf cease debating with Moon? Or arrest Winter when he loiters till June?

Can we insist Salmon spawn downstream because swimming upstream is suicide?

Can we tell Black Widow and Praying Mantis to forego patricide while never questioning our use of insecticide?

Can we order Sky Father, Earth Mother, and Old Man River to “heal thyself” so we need not be bothered?

Can we tell stars that if they must twinkle it must now be in Morse code?

Can we tell Cock and Hen that chickens are now banned from crossing the road? And, of course, it has nothing to do with an aversion to those on the other side.

Can we tell primates to stop monkeying around, and proclaim we’ll never patronize their monkey business?

And can we tell Ant that all work and no play is soooo… twentieth century?

Can we say all this and more?

We can… we have… to no avail.

Perhaps we do not have as much control as we would like to believe.

Masters of the world?

You decide.

Sexiest Gardner 3

© JW Thomas

12 thoughts on “Masters of the World?

    • jwtatfbc April 23, 2016 / 3:32 am

      Thank you, Cathy. You know it always means a lot coming from you, my friend.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 23, 2016 / 3:38 am

        I really enjoy all your Native American poetry, my friend. I like its flow, the sing-song tempo. Not to mention the layers of meaning. I liked your sexy gardener. Is it someone in particular, maybe your late wife? That would be my guess.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 23, 2016 / 3:40 am

        I think you know the topic that inspired it’s use today, my friend. But the caricature is of my late wife.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 23, 2016 / 3:44 am

        I thought so…in drawing you have published, I saw a bit of resemblance. She was a good sport to pose for you. I would have run off screaming with a blanket wrapped around me. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 23, 2016 / 3:47 am

        I’ve been drawing for so long I have a knack for putting people at ease, whether it’s my fine art or caricatures, or whatever I’m doing. They always end with smiles on their faces, my friend. And I’m sure you would too… ha ha

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 23, 2016 / 3:50 am

        Don’t be too sure…some of us would rather stay covered up, head included, and hidden under a table to be on the safe side. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 23, 2016 / 3:51 am

        That’s sad, my friend. Life is to be enjoyed and experienced.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 23, 2016 / 3:58 am

        Well, don’t feel sad, JW. Some people are just more comfortable in their skin than others are.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 23, 2016 / 4:01 am

        Good…a truce is called. 🙂 I’m off to bed now. Good night and sweet dreams, my friend.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 23, 2016 / 4:02 am

        Sounds good to me, my friend… ha ha Good night and sweet dreams to you as well, Pretty Lady.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

