Utter Bliss

Per Imp #250001

Utter bliss.

Welcomed.

Tested.

Pure, yet fleeting.

Six-months at best,

following a twenty-year void.

From the black hole to exaltation.

From nothingness… to “BOOM!”

When independence craves

depended on…

And single accepts double and change.

Though change changed once more…

and again…

and has yet to cease.

Per Imp #280001

Bliss is gone.

No tracks to follow.

Perhaps a whisper.

A thought.

Ethereal.

A dream… often forgotten,

since dreams are equally fleeting.

And yet Love remains without Bliss.

Still tested.

Still pure… Even more than before.

No dross remains.

Vaporized.

The fiery furnace of life’s trials.

Sparing nothing…

except perhaps,

the final curtain call.

Yet Love does more than linger.

Love survives.

Strong.

Committed.

Resolute.

Though Love’s thirst is quenched

through a daily rain of tears.

Tears at the hands of the infamous foe

who chased young Bliss away.

Sickness was who came calling,

and he did not come alone.

Masked… disguised.

Per Imp #260001

A battleground of flesh.

A battle six-plus years and still going.

Like all wars, it’s taken its toll.

The battleground is ravaged.

Consequently, only those engaged

in the battle know the true worth

of the battlefield where blood is spilled.

The womb of war.

The birth of pain.

Yet True Love sees passed the scars,

into the thousand yard stare,

and never loses sight of a soul-mate.

Hand-to-hand and heart-to-heart combat,

no matter how the flesh may change.

Thus, the loss of Bliss is bearable

as long as Love remains.

Yet woe to all where Love departs…

and woe upon woe

where he or she’s never been.

Per Imp #240001

© Jerry Thomas

23 thoughts on “Utter Bliss

  1. Mary Cathleen Clark April 22, 2016 / 3:49 am

    I had to study all the artwork after reading, so it took me a bit to comment. I enlarge the image to see all the details. A lot of beauty in those details, my friend.
    And a lot of emotion in your words. Is this a recently written piece, JW.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jwtatfbc April 22, 2016 / 3:51 am

      Originally done awhile ago, but recently updated, my friend. And thank you for noticing the art as well.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 22, 2016 / 3:56 am

        I love your artwork…I may have told you I “steal” them. 🙂 I save the images, some I use as wallpaper. Don’t turn me in for theft of property, okay?
        After reading your poem, I though it may be a piece you reworked. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 22, 2016 / 3:58 am

        Your safe, my friend. Use them all you want. And it was reworked a bit. If I had more time I would have done it some more.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 22, 2016 / 4:01 am

        It’s hard to find time for everything. I’ve had to back off on commenting on so many blogs or I’d never have time to write, or do some other things that are important to me.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 22, 2016 / 4:02 am

        I completely understand, my friend. But I definitely prioritize the other important stuff higher than a list of blogs.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 22, 2016 / 4:06 am

        I once asked a fellow blogger how he managed to keep up with comments, and he told me that he felt rude if he didn’t answer all comments, and to follow everyone who followed him. I’m trying to get out of that mindset.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 22, 2016 / 4:09 am

        I can’t accept that because I know a lot of people just follow so they can get a follow back and increase their numbers. But they don’t really care to comment or stay tuned to each blog. I do have a small number that I follow more than all the rest. And that’s all anyone can really be expected to do if they have a life; or people they care about off-line.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 22, 2016 / 4:16 am

        I’ve started whittling mine down to the people who actually leave comments, and whose writing I enjoy and comment on. There’s a poet I like who doesn’t use WordPress, uses Twitter and Facebook instead. Seems as if his name is Dark Angel (I think…) I retweet a lot of his micro poems. I look for what I enjoy reading in various places.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 22, 2016 / 4:18 am

        It’s a lot better to just go with the ones that appeal to you most of the time; except blogs that may only have a short percentage that appeal to you; so I fully understand, my friend.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 22, 2016 / 4:21 am

        No I don’t. It’s hard enough just keeping up with the few I follow here.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 22, 2016 / 4:26 am

        It’s a lot easier than WordPress. Like WordPress, most follow just to get an impressive number of followers, but I’ve run across some really good poetry there. And I probably spend 30 minutes tops there in a week.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 22, 2016 / 4:28 am

        I’ll think about it, my friend. But isn’t twitter limited to small posts?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 22, 2016 / 4:37 am

        Yes, it is, but a lot can be said in a few words.
        A lot of people use it as promotion; every time I make a post on WP, it goes to Twitter with a link back to the post on my blog. A lot of Twitter is self-promotion. But I do find some jewels in all of it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 22, 2016 / 4:39 am

        We’ll have to talk about that more on another forum, my friend. You’ve already changed my mind on a few things since I began to blog; so who knows, maybe again.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 22, 2016 / 4:45 am

        When you get a chance, go to my blog and scroll down to my Twitter feed on the right-hand side. I have it set up to display my last 5 Tweets. Right now, I think 3 of those 5 are poems posted in their entirety via Twitter. The 5th one down is a poem by Dark Angel I’m very fond of.
        I’m off to bed now. Good night and sweet dreams, dear friend.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 22, 2016 / 4:46 am

        Okay, I’ll check it out, my friend. Good night and sweet dreams to you as well, Pretty Lady.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

