Little Tommy Hawk

indians-67540_640

I remember Crazy Horse, Cochise, and Sitting Bull;

the Apache Nation, Cherokee, Choctaw, and Sioux.

I respect each of them surviving how it used to be,

living through their “trail of tears,”

staying proud in their misery.

 

They say, “Little Tommy Hawk beat the tom-tom drum.”

But I tell them I don’t know how.

Smokin’ peace pipe and drinkin’ fire-water,

I’m not invited to the council pow-wow.

They know I’ll paint my face and pick up a gun

before anybody gets my soul.

Don’t want me around to bring the profits down.

They say, “Geronimo, you’ve got to go.”

 

I was forced to learn their rules

through their form of education.

Attended many of their schools,

but I lived on the reservation.

They gave me a number

to go with my name.

But I’m not a store front Indian,

I will not bear their shame.

 

It is true I talk their talk,

it’s a tool to help stay free.

I don’t get sore because I’m proud

when someone calls me a “breed.”

I’m also proud of the white man’s blood

that courses through my veins.

I’m not angry at the misinformed,

just those who pull the reins.

 

It’s not just white but red man too,

and yellow, black, and brown,

who scream about injustice

while they slap their own brother around.

It’s not the color of their skin

that makes them right or wrong;

it’s the fact that they want it all

for the price of just a song.

 

It’s a fool who believes

only white men dish out hell.

Use your eyes and ears,

all history tells the tale.

Each culture breeds a few

who make up their own rules;

who pacify then spit in the eyes

of those they consider fools.

 

They say, “Little Tommy Hawk beat the tom-tom drum.”

But I tell them I don’t know how.

Smokin’ peace pipe and drinkin’ fire-water,

I’m not invited to the council pow-wow.

They know I’ll paint my face and pick up a gun

before anybody gets my soul.

Don’t want me around to bring the profits down.

They say, “Geronimo, you’ve got to go.”

© JW Thomas

10 thoughts on “Little Tommy Hawk

    • jwtatfbc April 20, 2016 / 3:50 am

      Yes there are, my friend. But being in both worlds (as they say) I’ve seen my share on both sides.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 20, 2016 / 3:53 am

        I would imagine so…and in your other travels as well, I suspect. I’ve heard something like: there’s a fool born every minute…somewhere.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 20, 2016 / 3:56 am

        B.T.Barnum was the originator of that quote with one word change. But I agree, my friend. And yes, I’ve found them all over; and have seen man’s inhumanity to man in many forms. Some that almost got me killed.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 20, 2016 / 4:00 am

        Part of it in the military, part growing up as a half-breed in a barrio, and part during my years as a P.I.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 20, 2016 / 4:03 am

        Well, thank you, my friend. I try to bring as much positive to life as I can, and learn from the past.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 20, 2016 / 4:05 am

        You are a positive influence on me, JW. 🙂 I’m off to bed now. Good night and sweet dreams.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 20, 2016 / 4:06 am

        Thanks for saying so; though it is mutual I assure you. Good night and sweet dreams, Pretty Lady.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

