Love’s Journey

wolves-654839

“Love’s Journey”

A collaboration by JW and Cathy

All my life I have searched for you

in the forest, woods, meadows, and glades

first in the light, then shadows, then dark;

convinced that I would instantly know

your voice, your lips, your touch

Yet dreams remained dreams, and you an illusion

And I was alone, a wolf without a mate… or pack;

tempted, sad, faithless

I sought out others but they were not real

None could fill the void that only you could

A void with your shape to complete me

The others? Only flimsy constructs that fell apart

Beneath the weight of broken vows and time

All my life I have searched for the one

That knew his place

Accepted it completely

Heart, mind, and soul

The one that would make me whole

Be my reason to be; my purpose

Guide, mentor, master

Teaching me through actions, not words

My true self reborn and acknowledged through his eyes

A possessor of unconditional… and limitless… love

To fill all the empty caverns inside

That were carved out with an angry knife

Slice, by slice, by bloody slice

All my life I have searched for you, my Alpha

Had finally given up hope, cast aside the fantasy

Resigned myself to ever be

A lone wolf… isolated in darkness

Hidden away in my den, licking my many wounds

Until death would set me free

Then you appeared

Shone your light into my caliginosity

I became aware

A reawakening

It was then I truly knew freedom

For the very first time

To be who I was meant to be

To be with who I was meant to be

My master, my love, my forever Alpha

lovers-1302670

You can read it here at Building Castles in the Air along with her other talented work.

33 thoughts on “Love’s Journey

    • jwtatfbc April 18, 2016 / 11:09 pm

      Thank you, my very dear friend. And thank you for another very good idea. I really enjoyed it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 19, 2016 / 3:37 am

        It was indeed a pleasurable experience, Cathy. And I always look forward to working with you. I’ve never felt comfortable working with another writer until you became my friend and collaborator.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 19, 2016 / 3:47 am

        Same here…I feel comfortable in our writerly relationship. I have always worked alone too until you and I collaborated (except for one time many, many years ago) and I enjoyed it immensely. We will do it again sometime.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 19, 2016 / 3:49 am

        That’s good to know. I treasure your friendship, and the collaboration breaks the monotony of solo writing lost in my own thoughts. It’s fun to bounce ideas off each other.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 19, 2016 / 3:54 am

        Yes, it is. So many times, we writers have no one but ourselves to work with. I don’t know about you, but I don’t personally know another writer.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 19, 2016 / 3:56 am

        I do, but I’ve never been comfortable enough with any of them to consider any type of collaboration. There is a compatibility with you that I never found with any other writer, my friend.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 19, 2016 / 4:00 am

        We can call it writer soul mates. I’ve seen it before in other’s writing here on WordPress, two that work seamlessly as one.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 19, 2016 / 4:04 am

        That sounds great to me, Pretty Lady. Because it truly was seamless each time; especially with the back and forth of this last piece. I never experienced anything like that as a writer before. When I wrote with others in college it always felt like egos were getting in the way. Not with you, my friend. It was all about the writing and getting the theme down as best we could. Thank you again, Pretty Lady.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 19, 2016 / 4:12 am

        Perhaps some writers count how many of their lines are in a poem like some actors keep track of how much dialogue is allotted them. Egos can get in the way of art. Thank you for the experience. I had a grand time. 🙂
        I’m off to bed now, my dear friend. Good night and sweet dreams.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 19, 2016 / 4:13 am

        I agree, my friend. And good night and sweet dreams to you as well, Pretty Lady.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. poeturja April 19, 2016 / 12:25 pm

    Beautiful. You are both wonderful poets, independently, but also as collaborators. I look forward to more…

    Liked by 2 people

    • jwtatfbc April 19, 2016 / 4:25 pm

      Thank you for saying so, Clarissa. It’s a real pleasure collaborating with Cathy, and our back and forth interaction is productive and effortless. No egos ever get in the way.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Monochrome nightmares April 19, 2016 / 7:42 pm

    A wonderful piece of writing.
    You work so well together.
    Bravo.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jwtatfbc April 25, 2016 / 5:19 pm

      Thank you, Kay. Cathy deserves a lot of the credit. She’s the only writer I’ve ever felt comfortable collaborating with.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: kesuvulu
  4. Kay November 22, 2016 / 8:39 pm

    This is such a beautiful, symbiotic pairing of words. Love it so much.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jwtatfbc November 22, 2016 / 9:31 pm

      Thank you, Kay. I’m glad you like it. Cathy is the only Poetry Partner I’ve ever clicked with.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Kay November 22, 2016 / 9:45 pm

        My pleasure and it shows!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

