If I Told You

 

If I told you I dreamed life into being would you see possibility?

If I told you I fell from the sky when Poacher slew Eagle would you understand the feather hat band?

If I told you I gave a hero’s name to a coward in the guise of an imposter do you think the truth is better left unspoken?

If I told you I fathered my father as he fathered his, yet my son fathered no one, can you tell me how I came to be?

If I told you a hunter shot an arrow through my heart on the day that I was prey; pray tell me, please, how this buck loved the hunter ever-more?

If I told you I was noble with royal ancestry and blue-blood in my veins, could you understand the blessing of living in poverty from my birth?

If I told you I had an introspective talk with Bear, while Coyote conversed with Hare, and Crow played paddy-feathers with Hawk, could you tell me which was worthy to remember?

If I told you I carved totems of the ancient ones while blindfolded in the bowels of Mother Earth, can you guess my connection to you?

If I told you I’ve saved lives and gave life, will it cleanse me for those I’ve killed? And if I told you life is death and death is life, can you reason beyond the madness?

If I told you I am coming home, will you die for me? And on the day that I depart, do you promise to live again?

If I told you I’ve lied the truth and built truth out of lies, can we agree I’m an honest man?

If I told you that I love you, would you see me now anew and know you hold the key to all I’ve said?

scan0107

 

© JW Thomas

21 thoughts on “If I Told You

    • jwtatfbc April 16, 2016 / 3:55 am

      Thank you, Cathy. You know it always means a lot coming from you.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 16, 2016 / 3:58 am

        Your Native American poetry has a mystical quality about it. And is quite thought-provoking.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 16, 2016 / 4:01 am

        Thank you, Cathy. Although it’s a little more mystery than mystical in this one, and the last sentence holds the key, Pretty Lady.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 16, 2016 / 4:11 am

        I’m glad, my friend. We writers do like to create something different but not so different that it alienates the reader.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 16, 2016 / 4:14 am

        I can’t create the sort of poetry you are so good at. Sometimes, I have to dissect yours–and others–before I have that “ah” moment. The way I think of mine is “raw”.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 16, 2016 / 4:16 am

        Yes, with some I go for that effect or complexity, while others I am not much different than yours, my friend. It depends upon the genre that I’m working in.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 16, 2016 / 4:22 am

        Yes, like I’ve stated before, your writing is diverse and multifaceted. Mine is dark, dark, dark. By now, one would think I’d written so much with a black pen that it would all be out. I sometimes wish I could see the light, but I doubt if my writing will ever be other than what it is. And people seem to like it…

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 16, 2016 / 4:24 am

        However, I’ve seen glimpses of the light in it and you cannot deny that your daily personality is filled with it. You just may need to tap into it one of these days to see what you come with. You might surprise yourself in a very positive way, my friend.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 16, 2016 / 4:32 am

        Wasn’t it you that said much of what we writer’s do is about what we need to get out or challenge ourselves with regarding our talent capabilities? It’s not about the dollar sign, my friend. I was talking about our personal journeys as writers to find our limits and push those limits for a positive outcome and growth within ourselves. And you are talented enough to stretch those boundaries when you finally get to the point its feels right for you.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 16, 2016 / 4:38 am

        I haven’t reached that point yet, but that doesn’t mean it may not be around the next curve in the road.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 16, 2016 / 4:39 am

        I’m sure it will have a wonderful outcome, whenever it comes, my friend.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Kay April 16, 2016 / 2:47 pm

    I agree with Cathy; it has a mystical quality, and the artwork is phenomenal.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. tiffanybeingfree April 18, 2016 / 9:13 am

    Thank you for this! The visual artwork is beautiful and the questions posed gave me pause. Very nice.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jwtatfbc April 18, 2016 / 1:25 pm

      I appreciate you saying so. Thank you, Tiffany.

      Like

Leave a Reply

