Ghost of lives lived

Revolutionary Doubt 1b0001

My father’s father survived a war torn land as a child but could not survive the war that raged within him.

My father’s mother carried the weight of a broken generation on frail shoulders and fed it with pockets full of imitation love.

My father perpetually relived the death of his dreams till Death finally came for him.

My maternal grandfather built the Interstate of Integrity through the Badlands of prejudicial injustice.

My mother’s mother was born to please Earth with her scent – like Night Blooming Jasmine – only to be gone by morning.

My mother lived her life for others except for a momentary lapse that left her a lone wolf without a pack.

I live as a ghost in a life of lies built on the expectations of others.

 

© JW Thomas

15 thoughts on “Ghost of lives lived

      • jwtatfbc April 12, 2016 / 3:27 am

        Yes, much better. And you bring a smile to my face, my friend. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 12, 2016 / 3:30 am

        Good. 😊 That about being a ghost…made my heart hurt.
        And your mother being a lone wolf without a pack for a while–I can relate to that.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 12, 2016 / 3:34 am

        Unfortunately, that’s what happens in life sometimes. She made very few really bad decisions in her life, but all it took was one real bad one that seemed to ban her to a lone road that she never was able to turn from: socially.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 12, 2016 / 3:41 am

        Yes, if one makes the wrong decision, it can affect their entire life…and others’ as well. In my past, I made a hasty decision or two that had disastrous results, so I try not to jump the gun anymore.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 12, 2016 / 3:44 am

        That’s a good principle to live by, my friend. Just don’t get into the habit of over-thinking something so long that you lose opportunities that could change your life for the better. I’ve seen that from people as well, my friend.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. pagesvoice April 12, 2016 / 11:56 am

    Your words are like a hammer to the nail, pounding and biting into wood. I used to have a sign in my office that read, “If you don’t see what you like then lower your expectations.” Many didn’t know how to react.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jwtatfbc April 12, 2016 / 2:06 pm

      Thank you for the thoughtful response, and I love your quote.

      Liked by 1 person

      • pagesvoice April 12, 2016 / 3:38 pm

        I forgot who gifted the gin to me, but it sure was a conversation piece. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Kay April 14, 2016 / 10:55 pm

    This has such depth! It’s true, it’s so easy to get caught up living other’s expectations. Circumstances and decisions create webs that are difficult to untangle, and sometimes it’s either not possible or people chose not to try. Sad, but poignant, JW.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jwtatfbc April 14, 2016 / 11:06 pm

      Thank you, Kay, for your very thoughtful response. It means a lot.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

