Wisdom of wounds

Per Imp #180001

The innocence of beauty

and the wisdom of wounds

can be a powerful combination

when harmoniously balanced.

Yet beauty’s teaching will always be

inferior to the wisdom of wounds.

Beauty is fleeting.

The wisdom of wounds endure.

The wise learn from their wounds:

yet fools see the same wound multiply,

since wounds, untreated,

expand.

Per Imp #70001

However, only a masochist seeks pain.

Like a society worshipping youth

and beauty above experience and wisdom

forever doomed to repeat

its self-inflicted wounds.

How many of tomorrow’s pains

could we be spared if we’d only

learn from the wounds of today?

There truly is…

wisdom in wounds.

Per Imp #110001

© JW Thomas

16 thoughts on “Wisdom of wounds

  1. Mary Cathleen Clark April 11, 2016 / 3:19 am

    And there is wisdom in your words, JW. So many spend their entire life not seeing beneath the skin.
    And btw, I don’t think I’ve ever mentioned it before, but I love your art work.

    Liked by 2 people

    • jwtatfbc April 11, 2016 / 3:20 am

      Thank you for both compliments, my friend. They mean a lot coming from you.

      Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 11, 2016 / 3:26 am

        I’ve been in the darkness enough of my life. I like to show that there is something beyond that is positive, when we exercise wisdom and love. I want to see a better world, at least through my eyes.

        Liked by 2 people

      • jwtatfbc April 11, 2016 / 3:32 am

        Yes, it would. It reminds me of that saying, “Each of us should leave the world a little better than we found it.”

        Like

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 11, 2016 / 3:38 am

        So true, JW.
        I’m off to bed, now…has been a long day. Good night and sweet dreams.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 11, 2016 / 3:40 am

        Good night and sweet dream to you as well, my friend.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Kay April 11, 2016 / 11:17 am

    I don’t think I could add more to what Cathy said, JW. Lovely artwork, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. poeturja April 12, 2016 / 1:09 pm

    If only there was a way to teach this to humanity as children. What a wise and positive world it might be…

    Liked by 1 person

    • jwtatfbc April 12, 2016 / 2:14 pm

      I agree, Clarissa. Though I try to view it as touching one person at a time, kind of like the “butterfly effect.”

      Liked by 2 people

  4. tiffanybeingfree April 18, 2016 / 9:20 am

    Yes, this is why I write. Pulling up the muck and bringing it to the light frees the shame. By revealing the scars, we can truly gain the most strength & freedom in our vulnerability. So hard for many to understand.
    And I love the artwork, too. Tattoos and all.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jwtatfbc April 18, 2016 / 1:30 pm

      Again I thank you for your response, Tiffany. We don’t know what will come from our many experiences, but we can choose what attitude to face them with.

      Liked by 1 person

      • tiffanybeingfree April 18, 2016 / 4:50 pm

        Very true! Sometimes I allow it to get the best of me, then I do my best to dust off and get back up again. I forget it’s my choice sometimes…how long do I want to sit in my own quagmire?!

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 18, 2016 / 5:30 pm

        You, me, and everyone else forget on occasion. I can’t tell you how many pairs of boots I’ve lost in that quagmire while trying to get free… ha ha

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

