Case of the Missing Ring

[*Years ago my step-son (9-years-old at the time) asked me if I could tell him about one of my private investigative cases for his class project. Well, I never spoke of my real cases outside of work, but I didn’t want to let him down, so I came up with the following micro-story on the spur of the moment… and it got him an “A”]

 

I was hired to find a missing ring at a bell factory.

I was told that no one had been allowed to leave since the ring came up missing.

So I had every worker hold up their hands, and the missing ring was not on any of their fingers.

Then I had them empty all their pockets, and still the missing ring was not found.

So I had every worker shake their bells, and every bell went “ding-ding.”

Then I had each worker jump up and down while shaking their bells, and quickly discovered the culprit, since they all went “ding-ding” except one. It went “ring-a-ding-ding.”

A detective must be open-minded to all possibilities. Had I been looking only for a missing finger ring I never would have solved the case.

4 thoughts on “Case of the Missing Ring

    • jwtatfbc April 7, 2016 / 3:29 am

      I thought it was short enough and easy enough for a 9-year-old to understand and relate to his class.

      Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 7, 2016 / 3:36 am

        Thank you for seeing that, I made it fairly subtle. Not really going for a laugh, but a lesson he could use.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

