Follow your heart

Grandfather

in the Warrior Clan

How do I conquer fear

in order to be brave

in battle?

Listen to what

West Wind tells you

then follow your heart

 

Grandmother

in the Bird Clan

How do I conquer fear

in order to be brave

in love?

Listen to what

South Wind tells you

then follow your heart

 

Uncle

in the Buffalo Clan

How do I conquer fear

in order to be brave

in thought?

Listen to what

North Wind tells you

then follow your heart

 

Brother

in the Otter Clan

How do I conquer fear

in order to be brave

in death?

Listen to what

East wind tells you

then follow your heart

 

Why have none of you

told me to follow the advice

of the four winds?

Do they know you

better than you know yourself?

 

 

© JW Thomas

12 thoughts on “Follow your heart

    • jwtatfbc April 7, 2016 / 3:35 am

      Why would the advice of the four winds be better for you if they don’t even know you? You need to be true to yourself and trust yourself to know what’s better for you in most situations, because you have all the information and know who you are inside.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Mary Cathleen Clark April 7, 2016 / 3:40 am

    Now, I get it. Thank you, JW, for your clarification. Sometimes, I don’t get the meaning a poem seeks to convey.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jwtatfbc April 7, 2016 / 3:42 am

      That happens to all of us, my friend. It could also be how your day went or what you are thinking about that hinders clarity now, but you would get it easily at another time when you are in a different frame of mind.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 7, 2016 / 3:47 am

        Sometimes I have trouble “getting” poetry that isn’t pretty well straight forward. My mind tends to go from point A to point B to point C and so on, not stopping in between to take in the finer points.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 7, 2016 / 3:51 am

        Remember how I praised the way you slip in your surprises in some of your stories? Well, my friend, that’s all this is. I used on simple trick to get people to see it or view it in a way they would assume one thing, so that the ending could be a surprise while having it out in the open all the time. You will notice that not one of his relatives ever tell him to “take” the advice of the four winds only to listen and then follow his own heart.

        Like

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 7, 2016 / 3:56 am

        I reread and see where I got off track. The last stanza I mistakenly thought was voiced by one person. Duh…

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 7, 2016 / 3:59 am

        It’s all a matter of perspective, and where you’re at, at the time, my friend. You’ve proven your intelligence to me in many areas, so don’t let a simple thing like this do more than give you a chuckle, Pretty Lady.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark April 7, 2016 / 4:06 am

        I think I will call it a day before I mess up again. Good night and sweet dreams, JW. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc April 7, 2016 / 4:07 am

        Good night and sweet dreams to you, my friend.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

