By the Numbers: to Love

A thousand miles of memories

have passed since our goodbyes

Hard to believe

it was yesterday

A hundred songs I’ve sung

poetic verse that stung

Lips wet to kiss

forbidden today

A score of sightings thought to be

you in periphery

Simple ghost tale

one haunted by love

A dozen days of purgatory

from town-to-town sans you

Eternal wind

born wild and free

A single door that separates

passion from pleasure

Treasures unfurled

turn key and open

 

Joy

Jubilation

Ecstacy

Euphoria

She never stopped waiting for you

 

© JW Thomas

19 thoughts on “By the Numbers: to Love

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 30, 2016 / 3:23 am

        Very much…repeating myself. 🙂 It’s one of those that speak to me on a deeper level.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 30, 2016 / 3:25 am

        That makes me happy coming from you, my friend. It’s one of those things I like to express about true love; that no matter the amount of distance or time apart the love remains.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 30, 2016 / 3:32 am

        I have to agree with you on that. I have read true accounts of a man and woman falling in love through letters alone (this before the age of telephones) and that love staying alive through years of only written communication. Seems as if I read this concerning a famous poet.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 30, 2016 / 3:35 am

        That has happened several times throughout history, my friend. And it is inspiring each time. It helps keep hope alive.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 30, 2016 / 3:41 am

        Yes, I know I have read about it happening–in quite a few instances–just can’t remember the particulars. I saw a movie quite a few years back that starred Anthony Hopkins. Seems as if he lived in England and the lady in America, and they exchanged letters for decades.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 30, 2016 / 3:46 am

        I’m not great with names, but I believe one was Emily Dickenson, who kept herself house-bound and wrote to a paramour. But, like I said, I’m not great with remembering names, so I would have to double-check that to be sure.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 30, 2016 / 3:50 am

        I think you’re right…she’s one of my favorite poets. I have a collection of her complete works.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 30, 2016 / 3:52 am

        I hope I’m right, but as soon as I pressed send last time the name Elizabeth Barrett Browning also popped into my head; and I always get them mixed up. But they were both excellent poets.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 30, 2016 / 3:58 am

        Now I am confused…I thought I remembered Anthony Hopkins, so I just did a web search of his movies, and found nothing that matched.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 30, 2016 / 4:00 am

        Well, I don’t recall the movie you’re talking about. But Elizabeth Barrett Browning ended up marrying the poet Robert Browning.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 30, 2016 / 4:06 am

        Process of elimination. You have got me curious. I think I’m going to have to pull out some of my poetry collections to satisfy my curiosity.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 30, 2016 / 4:11 am

        Well, I did a web search of Emily Dickinson, and though a recluse, there was no mention of a particular man she corresponded with, though she did write to many people.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 30, 2016 / 4:13 am

        Well, I know I’ll be checking my poetry collections then. Because when I was in college I can recall professors bringing up several pairings throughout the generations between poets and writers. I just wish I was better at remembering names.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 30, 2016 / 4:18 am

        Me also, JW.
        Well, I’m off to bed now. Good luck with the research, my friend.
        Goodnight and sweet dreams.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 30, 2016 / 4:19 am

        And goodnight and sweet dreams to you, Pretty Lady.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

