Kamama (Butterfly) Unmasked

Whoever named you Kamama (Butterfly) Maiden obviously never took the time to know you. It is true, like Butterfly, your beauty defines the dawn. When light caresses your flaxen hair it sparkles like morning dew on the wispy threads of Spider’s web, freshly woven overnight. And when the first rays of Sun kiss your face the gleam in your eyes, sheen of your skin, and radiance of life can easily compare to Butterfly’s dazzling shimmer, fragile fairy-like wings, and dance of colors. But that is where the similarities cease.

Beautiful you are, but fragile you are not. You were born through natural childbirth while your mother squatted on the kitchen floor of a ramshackle shack that lacked the basic necessities of a narcissistic profit driven culture. I thought it fitting when your mother mentioned switching from traditional songs of birth to Steppenwolf’s “Born to be Wild” throughout the pushing phase. No women-kin arrived to assist till after the delivery when you lay bloody on your mother’s stomach, still joined by the uncut cord.

You are feminine but firm. A lifetime of hauling water home a half-mile twice daily helped with that. You also chopped, hauled, and stacked wood; caught and cleaned fish, and tended a garden during the fickle growing season.

Your character matches your body – feminine but firm – not flittery and fluttery and fragile like Butterfly. But not imposing just focused and filled with purpose. You are like Hawk; smaller than Eagle but equally regal, with farseeing vision and predatory skills honed to perfection. As a child you survived poverty. As a woman you conquered it, and help others on the same path. Seeing you sail through each day is like watching Hawk soar on thermals, uplifted, and graceful. And when your prey is spotted – your targeted purpose of the day – you speed forth swift and true.

You are not Kamama (Butterfly) Maiden, you are Lady Hawk… a Peregrine Princess.

30 thoughts on “Kamama (Butterfly) Unmasked

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 29, 2016 / 2:56 am

        I can picture her in my mind. 🙂
        When I was a kid, we had a neighbor about a quarter of a mile away who was a full-blood Indian. The birthing process made me think of her. She was like a third granny to my siblings and I. You may have read a piece I wrote about a “Mimi” doll. She was the lady whose Mimi I was allowed to hold.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 29, 2016 / 3:00 am

        I do recall that piece you wrote However the first paragraph to this piece was altered very recently for someone you know, my friend. While the rest came from someone on the reservation.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 29, 2016 / 3:03 am

        When I think I can improve a piece I use a bit of writer’s license… ha ha

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 29, 2016 / 3:11 am

        And you are good at it. All your writing is good, songs, poetry, stories–I enjoy them all.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 29, 2016 / 3:13 am

        Well, thank you, Cathy. That means a lot coming from you. Us starving artists live on the nourishment of the occasional praise… ha ha

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 29, 2016 / 3:19 am

        I know that all to well. I’m happy I don’t have to support myself by writing; I’d be out on the streets starving. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 29, 2016 / 3:20 am

        Been there, done that, as they say. Especially back when I first began many years ago.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 29, 2016 / 3:25 am

        Rough financially, but very rich in life lessons and great experiences, and even met some long-term friends.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 29, 2016 / 3:33 am

        I think that sort of existence wouldn’t be a very safe environment for a woman alone. I had my chance a couple of times in my younger days to go where the wind might take me, with two different guys, but backed out at the last minute. It was probably a couple of my wisest decisions. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 29, 2016 / 3:36 am

        I think you’re right. I do have first hand knowledge of several friends that ended up in bad situations during those days. But that stuff can happen pretty much anywhere nowadays. It’s sad.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 29, 2016 / 3:45 am

        Yes, the world has gotten to be a more dangerous place, my friend. I have some mail I need to read–have been so busy today I haven’t had a chance to–so I’m going to call it a day. Goodnight, and sweet dreams.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 29, 2016 / 3:46 am

        Goodnight and sweet dreams to you, my friend.

        Like

  1. Mary Cathleen Clark March 29, 2016 / 2:45 am

    Hit post comment accidentally…easy to do on a tablet….
    Born To Be Wild is an old favorite of mine and very fitting for Kamama.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jwtatfbc March 29, 2016 / 2:47 am

      I’m glad to hear that. Steppenwolf is another one of the groups I played a lot in my bands in the early years.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 29, 2016 / 3:00 am

        I always liked the edgy rock…not so much stuff like Herman’s Hermits and their like put out. CCR is also a big favorite.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 29, 2016 / 3:02 am

        Yep, CCR was great. I still have quite a bit of their sheet music to jam to. We just keep finding more similarities, my friend.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 29, 2016 / 3:09 am

        I have 2 CDs of their greatest hits. All I can do is listen and turn up the volume to drown out my singing. You, my friend, can actually play the songs.
        Bad Moon Rising is my favorite.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 29, 2016 / 3:11 am

        I have the CDs as well. And I do have the sheet music to Bad Moon Rising.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 29, 2016 / 3:17 am

        That’s good to know. 🙂 If I had to pick out my very favorite song by anyone, that would be it–and it has been for years.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 29, 2016 / 3:19 am

        And that’s a welcomed bit of trivia, my friend. Do you follow Fogarty’s solo career?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 29, 2016 / 3:22 am

        I’ve heard some of his stuff, but not much. It broke my heart when they parted ways.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 29, 2016 / 3:24 am

        He is such a good poetic/lyric writer, that he eventually had to go solo to express other areas that didn’t fit the CCR image. But I hated the break up as well.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 29, 2016 / 3:30 am

        Some groups have managed to stay together, such as the Stones. And the last I heard, The Eagles (another of my favorites) are still together, though I don’t know if they tour anymore.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 29, 2016 / 3:32 am

        Yeah, it is rare, but there have been some very long running groups. And many others take breaks and then get back together after awhile. How many reunion tours have we heard about over the years. Too many to count.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 29, 2016 / 3:41 am

        I would imagine that life might get old after awhile to a lot of groups…always on the road, separated from family, and they burn out.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 29, 2016 / 3:44 am

        Not to mention the relationships with band mates that is very similar to a marriage in many ways. And that’s why so many bust up over time. And I’ve definitely seen that happen more than once.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

