Great Drops of Blood

After the Last Supper, up to the Mount of Olives they went

He took Peter, James, and John with him; each one tired and spent

At this point His spirit was filled with anguish and despair

And so He told his disciples to stay awake with him there

 

He walked on a little ways, and then fell to His knees

Holding His hands outstretched, to His Father he asked “Please”

“Please, if it be possible, let this cup be taken away

But I will do whatever you wish, your will is the better way”

 

And He sweat great drops of blood; the same blood that cleanses me

Yes, He sweat great drops of blood; it’s the blood that sets us free

 

Stay awake! Stay awake! Can’t you even stay awake one hour?

Keep alert! And pray; or temptation will take you with power

For the spirit may be willing; but oh how the body is weak

 

He told this to Peter and the others after falling asleep

Then back He went to His place of prayer, in concentration deep

Once again to ask His Father, “Can the cup be taken away?”

And one more time the Earth did feel His blood as He knelt to pray

 

(refrain to chorus)

 

Well, all of you today have the same thing facing you

The Lord has told you to stay awake, so what are you going to do?      (chorus out)

 

© JW Thomas

8 thoughts on “Great Drops of Blood

  1. Mary Cathleen Clark March 26, 2016 / 3:22 am

    I usually refrain from commenting on anything pertaining to religious, but since you’re my friend, I’ll make an exception. Nicely done, JW. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • jwtatfbc March 26, 2016 / 3:25 am

      Thank you, Cathy. I appreciate that. But as my friend, you know my convictions, and I respect that you accept them; just like I accept yours.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 26, 2016 / 3:36 am

        You are a sweetheart. I’ll dance naked around a bonfire and light a candle for you. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 26, 2016 / 3:38 am

        I’ll bring my camera… ha ha. You make me laugh, my friend.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 26, 2016 / 3:44 am

        Thank you. We can all use more laughs in this crazy world, Pretty Lady.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 26, 2016 / 3:52 am

        Yes indeed. I’m going to attempt to catch up on WordPress notifications and my email–haven’t looked at them all day–then go to bed. I will see you around, my friend.
        Goodnight and sweet dreams.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 26, 2016 / 3:54 am

        I hope you get caught up. And goodnight and sweet dreams to you as well, my friend.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

