Black River

Red Tail Hawk soars

over long black river,

river his ancestors

many moons past

never saw.

Salmon waters,

white-eye Deschutes,

still flow

not as free

not with abandon.

Endless flow of tears

constant hunger

yearning for lost

multitude of life

once in her depths – depleted.

Hawk’s heart is hers

wavering when necessary

when hunger screams

when he fears

little beaks fall silent.

Hawk wonders

why Earth Mother

allow black river

indifferent

womb-less.

Barren

no depths

hard-hearted

traversed with peril

nothing sacred.

Hawk figures

Earth Mother know

Winter often stubborn

allow black river

so starving hawk-lings

survive on road kill.

© JW Thomas

16 thoughts on “Black River

    • jwtatfbc March 25, 2016 / 3:35 am

      But with a positive perspective on a negative cause, my friend.

      Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 25, 2016 / 3:41 am

        Even though their natural habitat is dying they found a new source of food during the rough winter months to feed their babies; with road kill.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 25, 2016 / 3:45 am

        I didn’t see a positive in that, but I suppose a sail cat–or any sail animal–is better than nothing. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 25, 2016 / 3:48 am

        Well, it’s really tough for them to catch anything during winter, so any new source of food helps. I found out on the reservation that my kin try to see the positive side even in the worst conditions. That’s kind of where this came from, Cathy.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 25, 2016 / 3:52 am

        Now that you enlightened me, I understand what you were going for. I think it’s a good thing to find positive in a negative. It takes someone special to see the world that way.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 25, 2016 / 3:53 am

        It does, indeed, my friend. And you know where I stand on the issue, Pretty Lady.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 25, 2016 / 4:00 am

        And you’ve been a positive influence as well, my friend. I hope you’re not having to deal with bad weather again tonight.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 25, 2016 / 4:05 am

        I’m glad to hear that; especially after seeing so many of the weather disasters on the news the past few days, and them saying it was still going across the country.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 25, 2016 / 4:07 am

        Thank you for your concern, my friend. I’m off to bed now. Goodnight and sweet dreams. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 25, 2016 / 4:09 am

        And good night and sweet dreams to you as well, Pretty Lady. And I’m looking forward to your next installment tomorrow. Good-night.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. poeturja March 29, 2016 / 12:12 pm

    Yes, the hawks have finally come into my yard, stealing my little cardinals and finches for food. Such mixed emotions on my part. Wonderful poem!

    Liked by 1 person

    • jwtatfbc March 29, 2016 / 6:17 pm

      Thank you, for saying so. And yes, nature does have its cruel side; some die that others may live. The circle of life can be so beautiful to view from one perspective and so cruel from another.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

