Shirley’s home early from the dance

Shirley’s home early from the dance

The boy of her dreams tried to force romance

So Shirley’s home early from the dance

She knew she could never give him the chance

So Shirley’s home early from the dance

 

She came home with tears in her eyes

Asking me, “Papa, don’t he realize

At our age it’s much better to wait?”

 

Doesn’t he know what we’d throw away

For just a few minutes of foolish play;

Even if this wasn’t our first date?

 

Doesn’t he see what this would mean?

Taking stupid chances as a high school teen

And possibly ruining both our lives

 

She asked me, “Papa, what do I do?”

I’d love to love, but not as a fool

Please Papa, give me some good advice

 

I want to be strong and carry on

But I’m so scared of living sad songs

How long do I have to wait for a boy who’s nice?

 

I tried to tell her all kids aren’t taught

What they should do and what they should not

By parents who claim that they still care

 

She would have to learn to be strong

Not falling to the pressure of those so wrong

Cuz’ people in the right have a call to share

 

And then one day she would find out

That waiting was right without a doubt

When into her life walks Mister Right

 

He’ll take her by the hand to be his Queen

Trying to keep her life as close to a dream

As he possibly can with his insight

 

Sure you will have a problem or two

But being mature is what will see you through

And maturity is formed now when you’re young

 

If you let bad habits lead you away

You will have no excuse in that day

When you truly learn how sad songs are sung

 

Shirley’s home early from the dance

The boy of her dreams tried to force romance

So Shirley’s home early from the dance

She knew she could never give him the chance

So Shirley’s home early from the dance

 

© JW Thomas

16 thoughts on “Shirley’s home early from the dance

      • jwtatfbc March 19, 2016 / 4:35 am

        Would you tell that to the producers who keep rejecting them? ha ha

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 19, 2016 / 4:39 am

        I think of all creative writing, songs and poetry are the hardest to sell. And if like me, you’re doing what you love, that’s the important thing.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 19, 2016 / 4:40 am

        I agree with you completely. That’s why I haven’t given it up in all these years, my friend.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 19, 2016 / 4:44 am

        And that’s why I’ll keep writing even if my current project doesn’t sell. As soon as I start the querying process, it’s on to something new. And after all the time I’ve spent on my current one, I’m more than ready.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 19, 2016 / 4:45 am

        Well you know you have at least one devoted fan, Pretty Lady. And I look forward to whatever you write.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 19, 2016 / 4:50 am

        I have a couple of novels I’ve started on, but haven’t decided yet whether to go with one of them or start something fresh. Right now, I’m looking forward to being 100% complete with the current one. I may take a break and write a couple of short stories to submit to magazines.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 19, 2016 / 4:52 am

        Would you be in the same genre, or something new?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 19, 2016 / 4:58 am

        One is a post-apocalyptic young adult novel set hundreds of years in the future. The other another Southern Gothic piece told from the POV of a little girl.
        The one I will be marketing later this year is Southern Gothic/paranormal/young adult.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 19, 2016 / 5:00 am

        Well, keep me informed on your present novel’s progress, and what choice you decide, my friend. You know I’m always interested and will want to read them.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 19, 2016 / 5:03 am

        I will. 🙂 I’m off to bed now. Have a great weekend, goodnight and sweet dreams, JW. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 19, 2016 / 5:04 am

        I be looking forward to it. And you have a great weekend as well. And the best of dreams to you, Pretty Lady.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. poeturja April 11, 2016 / 12:04 am

    Loved this, especially the rhyme scheme. Found myself going back to see how you rhymed it (a,a,b, c,c,b) Great! Reminded me of a Tom Petty song. So good…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

