Cavalier

Accomplished in arms; gallant and carefree

He’s haughty and arrogant, but something to see

A dancing partner that the ladies cheer

He’s simply known as… the Cavalier

 

With horsemanship superseded by none

Unattainable when he’s on the run

A man of good means with talent galore

Who steals the show when he walks through the door

 

And the women say, “Dear, Dear Cavalier, come rest by my side

I know it won’t be for long, though a life maybe lived in one night.”

The women say, “Dear, Dear Cavalier, fill us with fantasy

So though we do not capture your heart, we’ll capture your memory.”

 

It seems Lady Luck is wedded to him

And all other ladies are each his best friend

Though he asks them not, they give him their all

Just for the chance to dance at the ball

 

He dances till dusk; he dances till dawn

His whole life’s spent dancing to just one more song

Though he is as they want there’s a valley to cross

Sometimes he does wonder… was it worth all the loss?

 

And the women say, “Dear, Dear Cavalier, come rest by my side

I know it won’t be for life, though a life maybe lived in one night.”

The women say, “Dear, Dear Cavalier, fill us with fantasy

So though we do not capture your heart, we’ll capture your memory.”

 

 

© JW Thomas

12 thoughts on “Cavalier

    • jwtatfbc March 16, 2016 / 4:16 am

      With your wonderful imagination, I have no doubts, my friend.

      Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 16, 2016 / 4:21 am

        I fully agree. That’s why I believe most novels surpass the movies made from them… because it’s more complete to the individual reader instead of the director’s view.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 16, 2016 / 4:28 am

        I agree. Books trump movies almost all the time. When I’ve told non-readers that when I’m reading a good book, soon I don’t see the words anymore, but instead, I visualize the action, the scenery, feel the emotions, all in my mind. They look at me like I’m crazy. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 16, 2016 / 4:29 am

        It’s there loss, Cathy. And they lose the ability to expand their own imaginations. That’s sad.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 16, 2016 / 4:36 am

        Most people I know would rather watch TV, no matter what is on, than read a book. I only have 2 TV programs I regularly watch–The Walking Dead and Bates Motel. Probably no surprise to you. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 16, 2016 / 4:40 am

        It’s not a surprise on either issue. Most of society gets their opinions on issues through sound bytes because they no longer have the attention spans to do a little research; much less read a whole book.

        And with your personality and imagination, Cathy, I understand the TV choices… ha ha

        Like

Leave a Reply

