Candy Coated Church

Lemon drop lyrics that hide the twisted truth

Of an evil Jezebel who’s claiming that she’s Ruth

Sugar coated sermons in a candy coated church

Causing cavities in those who once did search

 

The Bible prophesied this, a true-blue revelation

Some would hide the truth in cotton candy communication

You’ve got to be secure in the Word and know it well

Cuz’ them that lead a candy coated church can bring you hell

 

A candy coated church sweet in the world’s ways

Sprinkled so chic’ for forgetting biblical days

All day sucker sermons, so sticky but do not serve

Takes the Bible out of context, and then brags about its nerve

 

Some candy coated churches presently packaged pretty

Forgetting all the substance, just giving you what’s witty

They give you chocolate chip, and then cookies and cream

But they won’t serve Living Water, which is what fulfills the dream

 

Concerning candy coated churches with maple syrup serve

If you see Aunt Jemima, I think you should get nervous

A church is for disciples, not oven loving doughboys

Your spirit needs a healthy diet, not Bible baker kill-joys

 

It’s time for all to find a Bible believing church

Without the baker’s dozen, and no thirteenth one to search

Let God be your substance, and His perfect truth the flavor

Balanced by the Holy Spirit, and served with Christ the Savior

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Candy Coated Church

    • jwtatfbc March 14, 2016 / 4:11 am

      Yes, my friend. I’m not big on organized religion… but I love the personal relationship I have with God.

      Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 14, 2016 / 4:16 am

        I won’t disagree, although one interpretation of church is the family of God, not the building. But I understand what you’re trying to say, my friend.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 14, 2016 / 4:19 am

        I hope you’re sitting down because…if I were to follow any path, Wicca interests me the most.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 14, 2016 / 4:21 am

        I would be interested in finding out your reasons in another forum, my friend.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 14, 2016 / 4:26 am

        Okay, will do.
        I respect all people’s beliefs. Even though some religions, like Islam, can test my patience at times.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 14, 2016 / 4:28 am

        That’s a very understandable position, Cathy. And you ought to know me by now, my friend, I don’t shock very easy.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 14, 2016 / 4:32 am

        I would think so, but I’ve seen a few person’s jaw drop open when they’ve pressed me on how I believe, and I’ve told them. Luckily, I’ve never lost a friend over it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 14, 2016 / 4:34 am

        You already know my stance on friendship, Cathy, if that makes things any easier.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

