Eyes of a Stranger

Eyes of a stranger from the girl next door

The pretty little one I had before

Grew up with her the first half of my life

The second half we’ve been man and wife

 

But how am I suppose to get along

Now that she told me her love is gone?

And I’m left staring at eyes of a stranger

 

Eyes of a Stranger! Eyes of a Stranger!

Can’t remember what color they were

They’re so dark… deep… mysterious

Feels like she’s looking right through me

My aching heart… my head… I’m delirious!

Come back to me loving eyes

Begone… you eyes of a stranger

 

Eyes of a stranger it’s so sad to see

Remembering how they use to shine for me

I gave her the best years of my life

She bore me a son… then cut me like a knife

 

What evil brought you to life?

To take possession of my wife

You hid well your coming danger

Then left me with eyes of a stranger

 

Eyes of a stranger, they’re so cold and firm

I think they’ve gone past the point of return

Is it too late? Can I still pray?

And hope she comes back to me someday

 

(to refrain… to chorus out)

 

© JW Thomas

11 thoughts on “Eyes of a Stranger

      • jwtatfbc March 13, 2016 / 5:40 am

        True.

        Hey, I was going to ask you, do you have daylight savings in your state?

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 13, 2016 / 5:43 am

        I was just curious, cuz’ I remember it’s tonight.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 13, 2016 / 5:45 am

        I’m ready, got those clocks set ahead. I wish the powers that be would just pick a time, either one, and stick with it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 13, 2016 / 5:48 am

        I agree with you 100%! I have to get up early to play drums, and this just makes it earlier. But I can’t go to sleep early because I’ll just lay there staring at the ceiling until my body is ready.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 13, 2016 / 5:53 am

        I had a couple of margaritas a little earlier, and am actually a bit sleepy, and I need to write a letter too before I go to bed.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 13, 2016 / 5:55 am

        I hope you enjoyed yourself, my friend. And I’ll let you go. Sweet dreams, Pretty Lady.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

