I Learned to Duck From Lady Luck

She can tell when I’m excited

But with her I’ve got to guess

She knows when I need action

Or when I need to rest

 

But still, you can have her

I’m fed up with Lady Luck

When she met Mister Booze

I had to learn to duck

 

I learned to duck from Lady Luck

Cuz’ she played me for a fool

I thought she was nice so I threw the dice

But I found out she was cruel

I learned to duck from Lady Luck

Cuz’ she really had me sold

Lucky Seven – Come Eleven

Then Snake Eyes stole my gold

 

My heart was never with her

But my gold card found it there

She fell hard for my plastic

And did not want to share

 

I truly do not want her

I’m sick of Lady Luck

She conspired with Mister Booze

Leaving me without a buck        (to chorus)

 

I pity you who get her

Remembering how far I sank

But I have learned my lesson

I now throw money in the bank     (chorus out)

 

 

©JW Thomas

15 thoughts on “I Learned to Duck From Lady Luck

  1. Mary Cathleen Clark March 8, 2016 / 6:02 am

    Lady Luck is no man’s (or woman’s) friend. I hope you just sing about her, and didn’t learn the hard way.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jwtatfbc March 8, 2016 / 6:05 am

      Strictly from an observation of what happened to a distant relative, combined with a couple of movie plots.

      Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 8, 2016 / 6:10 am

        I have in other areas, but not this one. How about you, my friend?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 8, 2016 / 6:14 am

        A little of both. When I was much younger, I learned from no one, because I thought I knew everything.
        When my dad was around 90, he told me the older he got, the less he realized he knew.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 8, 2016 / 6:17 am

        Yeah, me too. And I agree with your pop. But I have a thirst for knowledge that doesn’t seem to quit.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 8, 2016 / 6:25 am

        That’s a good thing, keeps the brain sharp. I’ve been learning html. Not long ago, in a used book store, I purchased a book teaching algebra. When I was in school, I made straight A’s in all subjects until I took algebra. So, in my spare time, when I get some someday, I’m going to attempt to learn past the bare basics.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 8, 2016 / 6:27 am

        I like hearing that you keep challenging yourself. That’s a healthy thing to do. And, if it was not for algebra in college, I could have had a 4.0 GPA

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 8, 2016 / 6:37 am

        A man with a brain . . . I like that. 🙂
        I could diagram a sentence that took an entire page. My son, when in college, could do an algebra problem that required a page. He’s left-handed, I’m predominately right–write with my right hand, use scissors in my left. My flighty left-brain has always caused problems.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc March 8, 2016 / 6:42 am

        I have a couple of quirky left-right things, though they don’t pop up much anymore; like switch-hitting in baseball, and fighting in the ring from both left and right stances. But I’m predominantly right.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 8, 2016 / 6:47 am

        I’m about to fall asleep in my chair, so I think I’m off to bed. Goodnight, Alpha. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark March 8, 2016 / 6:49 am

        I have been so used to getting up at 4:30 am for years, that I still wake up way too early.

        Liked by 2 people

      • jwtatfbc March 8, 2016 / 6:51 am

        I completely understand. I’ve never been the early riser, but my dad did it all his life.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

