Where are the bills?

[*Another memory of a time when my house was still full.]

 

We all talk about how nice it would be to never see any bills. However, let me tell you when the bills don’t show up you really begin to wonder what’s going on?

 

Most of my bills usually arrive at the end of the month so that I can get them sent out by the first week of the next month. So when the first week of the month arrived prior to receiving any of the bills I naturally started to get curious.

 

“Where are the bills?” I asked Karen. But she swore she hadn’t seen them. And when she told me why, I had a sneaking suspicion where they were.

 

“Where are the bills?” I asked Jeff. Because Karen’s sickness was getting worse by that time, she’d been letting Jeff take the mail key to check the box.

 

“I haven’t seen them, Dad”, Jeffrey replied. “Honest.”

 

But after more coaxing it became, “Well, maybe some other kids got into the box.” Which, when quickly disproved, became, “Well, maybe a big wind blew them out of my hand when I wasn’t watching.” Until finally we hear, “It’s my fault Dad, I threw them away.”

 

And why would a kid throw away the bills?

 

If you believe the initial explanation of the child in question, it was because he was afraid to give bills to his dad, which passed the truth test as poorly as his initial attempts to hide the fact he knew where the bills were.

 

It appears that, in the mind of a child, if there are no bills around to pay then there is no reason to pay them. Thus the money could be used for other things… like fireworks, toys, etc.

 

It makes you wonder what you might be missing if your child is checking the mail, doesn’t it?

6 thoughts on “Where are the bills?

  1. Mary Cathleen Clark February 20, 2016 / 3:52 am

    Was Jeffery old enough to know about the high medical bills? If so, he may have thought that throwing away the bills was helping his family, not realizing that just because you didn’t get the bills didn’t me they just went away.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jwtatfbc February 20, 2016 / 4:47 am

      Actually, he really was looking for a way to free up money to buy him things, because he kept asking for big dollar items and I continued to say, “no.” I was trying to teach him about allowance, and chores, and working for what you want at the time.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark February 20, 2016 / 1:50 pm

        It amazes me what kids can come up with, that immature brain kicking in. The tall tales they can tell, trying cover up what they have done, can be hilarious.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc February 20, 2016 / 8:58 pm

        So true, Cathy. Unfortunately, it’s not just kids. As an ex-PI, I can recall all kinds of adults trying to lie their way out of a lot of things. And have you ever loaned money to someone who (you found out later) had no intention of paying it back? Talk about some whopping lies! ha ha

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark February 21, 2016 / 3:29 am

        Yes, it’s happened to me a couple of times . . . relatives of my 1st husband. It’s bad when it’s relatives.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

