Spiritual Valentine

The rare quality of beauty that you display so well

Is like that of fragrant flowers blooming near the banks of waters, still

Or the beauty of the clouds when imagination takes its hold

Or the thrill of aspiration when something good has been foretold

 

The rare quality of beauty that you simply magnify

Has tumbled many a hearts as they casually walk by

Your graciousness and love show forth to be heaven sent

You say, to love me you would die, but in truth could this be meant?

 

Your rare quality of beauty speaks well of royalty

Like a crown of purest truth and robed in loyalty

With fashion set by Spirit adorned with angelic flare

And sung with the praises that it will always be there

 

Come on, let’s be fair. What chance could I have with you?

You, with beauty rare, and I, the jester, playing the fool

Come on, let’s be fair. What chance could there ever be…

For somebody like you to fall for somebody like me?

 

Jesus… thank you for loving me.

 

 

© JW Thomas

[* Repost of “Come On Let’s Be Fair” for Valentine’s]

10 thoughts on “Spiritual Valentine

    • jwtatfbc February 15, 2016 / 5:32 am

      Thanks for the response, Cathy. I hope you had a good Valentine’s?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark February 15, 2016 / 1:51 pm

        It was okay, just another day to me. As I’ve gotten older, holidays mean less and less to me. I think working for so many years in retail took the joy out of them all, especially Christmas. It just meant more work. lol

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc February 16, 2016 / 12:36 am

        I worked on a lot of the holidays as well; usually doing some kind of entertainment. But I liked it because I always felt like I was involved in what’s happening, and it was fun. But now that I’m older it usually depends on whether I’m with loved ones or not. I’d rather be making new memories instead of being alone remembering the old ones (no matter how good they were).

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark February 16, 2016 / 2:35 am

        I missed too many holidays spent with my family in the past. Working, alway working where people could shop instead of being home with their families. I’m glad I don’t have to do it anymore, Christmas especially.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc February 16, 2016 / 4:44 am

        I’m glad you don’t as well. Make the memories while you can, even if it’s not in a holiday celebration. You deserve it after working hard for a good portion of your life.

        Like

    • jwtatfbc February 19, 2016 / 6:14 am

      Thank you for the response, it’s appreciated.

      Like

Leave a Reply

