Graveside Tour

Things that go bump in the night… (in the night)

Things that go bump in the night… (in the night)

Whatever we fear will give us a fright

Like things that go bump in the night

 

The orange cones on the side of the road

Make a hell of a joke so I’ve been told

So we used a few at the midnight hour

Capitalizing on bewitching power

 

We made a detour off the main highway

Sending each car down a creepy byway

They follow the path of cemetery row

Their fear keeps rising but their courage is low

 

Some ghosts and goblins may try to lure

You away from the Graveside Tour

So if you care for your life at all

Stay in the car, don’t heed their call

But welcome to the Graveside Tour

Yes, welcome to the Graveside Tour

 

You will drive mile-after-mile

With death head grin or nervous smile

Just beware and know this is no joke

Or you may feel a poke and a choke

But welcome to the Graveside Tour

Yes, welcome to the Graveside Tour

 

Seeing all the spooks is a big surprise

But the headless jester took the grand prize

You may think you’re funny, and not just in bed

But try telling a joke when there ain’t no head

 

The scary prank was a real screecher

Actually done by a local preacher

But the mad caretaker put a stop to it

When a dead old biddy threw a hissy fit

 

© JW Thomas

11 thoughts on “Graveside Tour

    • jwtatfbc February 9, 2016 / 4:04 am

      Disregarding the ghouls and such, it really was done as a prank by a guy who became a preacher.

      Like

  1. jwtatfbc February 11, 2016 / 2:05 am

    I thank you for your response and opinion. Though I believe God has a bit more sense of humor. After all, was it not God that caused the Egyptian idols to keep falling over, and had words of wisdom come from a donkey? I just put this together in a humorous way like the Charlie Brown’s “Great Pumpkin:” purely humor and nothing serious intended.

    Like

    • Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus February 11, 2016 / 11:47 am

      I don’t appreciate humor that is morbid focusing on the Occult, based on evil practices or cruel and downgrading to others and nor does God as confirmed in Scripture.

      1 Peter 1:14-16 As obedient Children, not fashioning yourselves according to the former lusts in your ignorance: But as He which hath called you is Holy, so be ye Holy in all manner of Conversation; Because it is written, Be ye Holy for I am Holy.(KJV)

      Regards – Anne.

      Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc February 12, 2016 / 5:37 am

        Again, thank you for your response and opinion. We have agreed on many areas prior to this one in the past, but I will agree to disagree in this. I have never been convicted by the Spirit in this area for there is no ill intent. And in my belief it is the intent of the heart. But I respect your view and the right to your belief on the issue. God bless.

        Like

  2. jwtatfbc February 14, 2016 / 1:09 am

    With due respect I do not disagree with the Scriptures you reference. But I do differ on judgmental attitudes. Will you take the stone out of Christ’s hand and throw it at the woman? Or will you admit that you have your own sins to worry about and walk away as the others did in the Bible?
    Humor has healing qualities, and I do not believe God is going to throw the book at me for humor with no ill-intent behind it. I prefer to see God as a God of love with a good sense of humor who wants relationships with us; not a strict disciplinarian that is waiting to judge and pounce on every little detail I do.

    And, for the record, I did not say the talking donkey was a joke, I implied God showed His sense of humor by having “words of wisdom” come from a donkey which is a humorous image. And I think God would rather have us laughing and encouraging each other instead of creating tension over semantics or different perspectives. And I will continue to love you as a Christian sister whether we agree or not. God bless.

    Like

  3. jwtatfbc February 14, 2016 / 4:06 am

    In other words, you believe you’ve taken all the boards out of your eye so that you can worry about the speck in mine (and anyone else that may per chance do something you don’t agree with)? If God didn’t want me as I am He would convict me of it through the Holy Spirit, as He has many times before with other things. And waiting for His guidance has done me well this long, so I will continue in the relationship I have with Him as I always have until He shows me otherwise. As a disabled veteran, who has seen my share of real evil, my humor without ill-intent cannot be classified as such. But I thank you again for your opinion, and will defend your right to believe anyway you desire.

    Like

    • Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus February 14, 2016 / 7:40 am

      We are not referring to your weaknesses and shortcomings jwtatfbc, I don’t judge these critically, I have enough of my own, perhaps more than you, I’m rebuking you for your sin as God tells us to, calling good what He calls evil is sin the same as calling evil what He calls good is sin too.

      The Holy Spirit will speak to us through the Body of Christ including rebuking, correcting and warning when needed but it’s your choice if you listen or not, we reap what we sow, I’m praying you come to your senses also your choice to do so.

      James 5:19-20 Brethren, if any of you do err from the Truth, and one convert him; Let him know, that he which converteth the sinner from the error of his way shall save a Soul from death, and shall hide a multitude of sins.

      2 Timothy 3:16 All Scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for Doctrine, for Reproof, for Correction, for Instruction in Righteousness: That the man of God may be Perfect, thoroughly furnished unto all good works.

      2 Timothy 4:2-3 Preach the word; be instant in season, out of season; Reprove, Rebuke, Exhort with all long suffering and doctrine. For the time will come when they will not endure sound doctrine; but after their own lusts shall they heap to themselves teachers, having itching ears;

      Blessings – Anne.

      Like

      • jwtatfbc February 14, 2016 / 10:56 pm

        Again, I thank you for your response, though I still believe it’s misplaced. But I’ll take all the prayer I can get, and I pray for wisdom, guidance, and discernment constantly. And I’ll pray for you as well. God bless.

        Like

  4. jwtatfbc February 16, 2016 / 12:41 am

    That was just a general comment regarding daily prayers for whatever situations or people I encounter each day.
    God bless.

    Like

Leave a Reply

