Burning Crosses

They’re back to burning crosses, and yelling “Crucify!”

So boldly they blaspheme the Lord with no thought or reason why

Crucifying the Christians – Killing the kids of Christ

They don’t even know they’ve lost their souls in Satan’s subtle heist

 

The Devil does deceive… Satan suckers you to submit

Feeding you full of fantasy with no honor left to admit

He raises your hopes high, then lets go to watch you fall

So don’t give him the joy, turn to God and stand tall

 

They’re back to burning crosses in movies and TV

But the plain truth of it is it reflects our society

Network news is quick to jump on any Christian error

Claiming that they’re impartial, though they fail at truth or dare

 

The newspapers follow suit, printing all their trash

Not caring about the truth just caring about the cash

And books are often printed by those who live in shadows

Rejoicing in their cause to ignite so many battles

 

Burning crosses will never get you into Heaven

Burning crosses will never give you peace

Burning crosses is living the lie you were given

With an eternal debt to pay for that which you fleece

 

Creation is out of schools but evolution is still in

Though science is proved wrong time and time again

And they claim there’s no truth to Biblical prophecy

Yet never disproved one of the hundreds there to see

 

So they’re back to burning crosses, and calling Christians “fools.”

With no regard for life or death, and breaking all the rules

They’re back to throwing stones in this world made of glass

Doing that which they condemn, yet with them they say it’s “class.”

 

Back to burning crosses, smelling scandal in the air

And those that start the scandal soon become a millionaire

So caught up in their evil and the pain of those they slandered

To them it’s chic’ and fashionable to live this double-standard

 

© JW Thomas

15 thoughts on “Burning Crosses

    • jwtatfbc February 8, 2016 / 1:34 am

      I understand and respect your opinion. I jotted this one down after watching a documentary that showed how Christians in over 80 countries can be thrown in prison or killed simply for their belief… today, not in the past.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark February 8, 2016 / 1:53 am

        People have been fighting and persecuting others in the name of religion for hundreds of years. I don’t see it changing, only getting worse.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc February 8, 2016 / 2:07 am

        True. And I can and have written about other situations as well. I just chose the topic after watching the documentary. It just sparked the words that came out. Just like the memories of the girls on the street sparked my song “On the Boulevard.” I didn’t mean it as an either/or situation or belief. And my speaking up may not affect anyone’s opinion, but I have to live with myself, and so I speak about what concerns me, with no malice intended… but a lot of concern.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark February 8, 2016 / 2:17 am

        I understand. I’m not a Christian, but it pisses me off how they are treated in our own country anymore. Even the government has gotten on the Christian bashing bandwagon.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc February 8, 2016 / 2:27 am

        True. I even experienced it when I recently went back to finish up my college degree. But I won’t bore you with the details.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark February 8, 2016 / 3:39 am

        You don’t bore me at all. I enjoy our virtual conversations. But I think if we go in depth on any subject, (which we seem to be doing) maybe we should do it by email so WE don’t bore anyone who may stop by and read our comments.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc February 8, 2016 / 3:48 am

        Sounds good to me.

        Hey, with the new technology, do they still call it “pen pals?”

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc February 8, 2016 / 3:59 am

        Okay, sounds good, cuz’ “email pal” just doesn’t seem to have the right feel.

        If I’m cutting into your writing time, let me know. I remember that you’re a couple of hours ahead of me and I don’t want to waste your night away.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark February 8, 2016 / 4:05 am

        I am kicked back in my recliner, on my iPad multitasking, talking to you, reading posts, and answering email. Oh, and eating a pecan Cinnabon with milk also.
        I usually write from around noon to 5pm, my time.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc February 8, 2016 / 4:14 am

        Now that’s the way to take care of things. I’m a “big mug of hot chocolate at night” kind of guy.

        As for writing, it’s usually late at night. I’m not a bright and early type. With all my past injuries it takes me awhile to get all the kinks out. But once I get going I’m fine… for the most part.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark February 8, 2016 / 4:25 am

        I am not a morning person at all. It takes me a couple of hours to wake up, then I eat a bite and go for a walk, listening to an audio book on my phone while doing so. (I don’t know if I told you, but I took early retirement the 1st of the year so I could devote more time to writing. Luckily, I’m financially secure and can afford it.) Afternoons are when I’m in my writing groove. At night, I read, usually staying up until 1or 2am.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc February 8, 2016 / 4:35 am

        My body clock just seemed to work that way most of my life. But it made it easier for me to work the non-conforming jobs like stunts, P.I., and music. Even when I was in the military it was an unorthodox unit that did a lot of its missions at night… or continuously for days on end, so that we worked really hard, then crashed for a day or two, then partied hard, only to go back out again. And I’ve been a late-nighter ever since.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

