Billy the Kidder

[*Do you know someone who was abused or neglected?]

 

This kid named Billy road into town

Quickly became the teacher’s class clown

No one saw thru the jokes to the strife

Making us laugh with how he hates life

 

He made us laugh at his kith and kin

And told lewd jokes about saints who sin

No topics off limits – none at all

He would lift us up to watch us fall

 

Billy the Kidder – was a mystery

Until the secret came out about his history

Abused and neglected, a life filled with pain

His mother a drunk and his father insane

Billy the Kidder – he must joke or cry

He knows when he can laugh no more… it’s the day to die

Billy the Kidder – was such a funny guy

 

Billy got older but never changed

His jokes still bizarre – even deranged

He gave us a glimpse of the sewer

And it kept him booked solid on tour

 

Scandal rocked Billy’s world one day

Some say he led a young girl astray

It wasn’t true but Billy fell ill

Killing Bill’s laughter also killed Bill

 

Billy the Kidder – was a mystery

Until the secret came out about his history

Abused and neglected, a life filled with pain

His mother a drunk and his father insane

Billy the Kidder – he must joke or cry

He knows when he can laugh no more… it’s the day to die

Billy the Kidder – was such a funny guy

 

© JW Thomas

6 thoughts on “Billy the Kidder

  1. Mary Cathleen Clark February 7, 2016 / 2:31 am

    I’ve known abused people, and have been there myself. All of us find our own way to cope.
    Sad, but good poem, JW.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jwtatfbc February 7, 2016 / 11:33 pm

      I’m sorry to hear that it touched you personally. But it sounds like you’ve come away stronger, and didn’t let it beat you. I’m proud of you for that.
      Sadly, I’ve dealt with the issue a lot in my life; especially during the period my mom ran the halfway house for abused girls. Have you ever used your experience to make a point in your writing?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark February 8, 2016 / 12:05 am

        I’ve channeled the negative emotions I experienced in bad situations many times into my writing. Not so much the actual experiences. A friend once told me I should write a memoir (on my old blog, I wrote quite a bit about my childhood–the good memories) but it would be pretty boring if I didn’t include the bad with the good. And I could never write about some shit. We Southern ladies don’t air our dirty linen in public. lol

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc February 8, 2016 / 12:31 am

        I found writing cathartic when it came to getting rid of some bad stuff from both my youth and military experiences. That’s why I was asking.

        If you ever do your memoir let me know.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark February 8, 2016 / 12:41 am

        Will never happen, but thank you for your interest. Most people don’t want to read about the good times, just the bad, and except for a couple of close friends, no one has heard the bad. It stays mine.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc February 8, 2016 / 12:46 am

        Rats! I was looking forward to it. Ha… I think your sense of humor alone could make it interesting. But I respect your decision to keep it close to you.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

