Cupid sipped the suds

[Here’s a humorous poem/lyric in honor of Valentine’s Day soon approaching.]

 

The day that Cupid sipped the suds, then let the arrow fly

Not catching me in the heart, but right between the eyes

He was not aware of the danger to my life

When my eyes began to wander in the presence of my wife

 

Cupid… I’ll get you for this!    Next time try Alcoholics Anonymous!

 

I did not know what came over me, my head began to whirl

Sending me to the Twilight Zone with the urge to watch the girls

This wouldn’t have been so bad had I not been with my mate

But when my eyes filled with T&A, her eyes they filled with hate

 

She said, Mister you’d better put those eyes back in your head

Before you wake up tomorrow to find that you’re now dead

As well you can imagine, this did not bring me joy

So then I tried to snub the girls but wound-up acting coy

 

Cupid… I’ll get you for this!    Next time try Alcoholics Anonymous! (x2)

 

I could not help it though, Cupid’s potion kept me flirting

Don’t you think I’d stop if I could, knowing soon I may be hurting?

Then out poured words of mush, romance and sentiment

And the stare my wife was giving said I’d soon be in cement

 

Well I tried to tell my Sweetie, I don’t know what’s come over me

But she soon brought up divorce, if I wanted to be free

I said, Baby that’s not it, but to tell you just sounds stupid

When I feel like a victim of an intoxicated cupid

 

Cupid… I’ll get you for this!    Next time try Alcoholics Anonymous! (x2)

 

Oh things would be so easy if Cupid didn’t drink

When Cupid sips the suds things really begin to stink

He goes all to pieces and his aim is less than fair

He just lets arrows fly, knowing they must land somewhere

 

Cupid… I’ll get you for this!    Next time try Alcoholics Anonymous!

 

Well, the potion finally wore off and I regained control

Yes, I survived the danger to my body and my soul

And my sweet darlin’ kissed me, as if we hadn’t fought

And I no longer look at T&A… unless I can’t get caught

 

 

© JW Thomas

25 thoughts on “Cupid sipped the suds

  1. Mary Cathleen Clark February 6, 2016 / 2:20 pm

    Lol . . . all men look, whether struck by a drunken Cupid or not. The wise ones learn to do it without getting caught. And wise wives learn that looking isn’t a reflection on them, just human nature. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • jwtatfbc February 6, 2016 / 9:26 pm

      That is so true! However, I learned to include the wives. Both my wives (at different times of course) requested to be models for my creative art endeavors. But that’s another story. ha ha

      Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc February 7, 2016 / 12:24 am

        Interesting… yes. Family-oriented… no. ha

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark February 7, 2016 / 12:41 am

        All the more interesting, lol.
        Some of what I write would be G rated, but most has a way of slipping into PG or R. I suppose that’s because life isn’t G-rated, definitely not my life anyway. When I became a mother at barely 17, I straightened myself out–and my 1st husband did too–but my teenage years were, well, I’ll just say I was a wild-child. And a troubled one. Those years provide a lot of fodder for my imagination. I would guess your time as an “adrenaline junkie” fuels a lot of your writing.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc February 7, 2016 / 1:00 am

        You guess correctly. Although I had 4 different jobs while in school to pay for all the fun when I did get those rare moments free.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark February 7, 2016 / 1:10 am

        I would imagine we could swap some pretty crazy stories. 😀
        I’ve been a good girl–for the most part–for many, many years, but I still have my head in the clouds a lot of the times. And I’m still a bit, not wild, but not like most women my age I know. My interests are different, my humor is different. Most of my friends are considerably younger than I am. So if I seem a little goofy to you from time to time it’s because I suffer from not-acting-my-age syndrome.
        I think you have a streak of that in you. lol

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc February 7, 2016 / 1:17 am

        Since my mom split when I was young, and my dad had to work all the time, I had little supervision. Thus, I grew up doing what I wanted and going where I wanted (as long as I didn’t make too much trouble for my dad, that is). And since I played both guitar and drums I was in different groups, which brought me into a lot of fun situations for a kid. So I learned to live by the beat of a different drummer (so-to-speak), instead of following the crowd.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark February 7, 2016 / 1:32 am

        The different drummer is the more interesting drummer. I bet you have a wealth of stories in you, and you definitely have the talent to tell them. A lot of people can write, but you are a writer AND a storyteller. I’m looking forward to reading a lot more from you, JW.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc February 7, 2016 / 1:42 am

        Thank you for the encouragement. After reading some of your work and having a few conversations with you now, I mirror the sentiment. You always seem to stimulate conversation and interest. Your hubby is a lucky guy. And I’ll definitely keep an eye peeled for each new post you do.
        I’d say more but I have a couple friends beginning to throw things at me for making them wait for our night out. Catch ya’ later!

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc February 7, 2016 / 11:29 pm

        An actual “Chatty Cathy?” That’s fantastic! We called my late wife that as one of her several nicknames, but her real name was Karen. But seriously your hubby ought to be thankful that you’re still there with him. When we lose them we ache for what once was: or at least I do anyway.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Mary Cathleen Clark February 8, 2016 / 12:15 am

    In reference to your wife, I’m sure the nickname was an endearment. My husband gets irritated if I talk when he’s watching TV, on the computer, or whatever. For the most part, he only wants conversation when he wants it, and if it’s something he’s interested in. When he says I talk too much, that’s exactly what he means.
    If you don’t mind me asking, how long were you married, and how long since you lost your dear one?

    Liked by 1 person

    • jwtatfbc February 8, 2016 / 12:41 am

      I lost Karen in 2008 after a long battle with cancer. We’d been together since 2000. It took a lot of time for me to commit to anyone again after my first wife’s betrayals. But I’m glad I did. It’s like the adage, “the best of times and the worst of times.” Being with her was the best, but watching her go through what she had to endure and not being able to stop it was the worst.
      I’m a bit different than your hubby. When Karen wanted to talk the TV was turned off or turned down, or we went for a walk together (with few exceptions, but there were some). And since Karen went to bed early and I was a late-nighter I did computer work at night. And for the last year of her life we were together almost 24/7. I became her caregiver because she wouldn’t accept anyone else.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark February 8, 2016 / 1:02 am

        I’m sorry you lost her. It sounds as if you had a good marriage. No marriage is perfect, it involves a lot of compromise, give and take, AND work to keep it thriving. People like you, who unselfishly care for a loved one through their worst of times, and manage to do it with a broken heart, renew my faith in the innate goodness of humanity.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc February 8, 2016 / 1:08 am

        Thank you. It was as close to perfect as I could hope for. We only had one disagreement in all the time we were together. And being with her actually re-ignited my belief in long-term relationships (which I had swore off of for decade prior to it).

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark February 8, 2016 / 1:21 am

        Well, if it hasn’t happened already, most likely there will be a new lady in your future. And who knows . . . maybe marriage. 😊 As for me, NEVER again!

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc February 8, 2016 / 1:29 am

        Ouch! That last part was definitive. I’d like to ask why, but I don’t want to open any wounds.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Mary Cathleen Clark February 8, 2016 / 1:49 am

    Quite simply put, my husband is a total jerk, and doesn’t even realize it. And he’s so defensive, I can’t communicate with him. He has multiple health problems, so I will probably outlive him, and If that happens, I would rather be alone than live with someone again.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jwtatfbc February 8, 2016 / 2:00 am

      I’m sorry to hear that. It’s sad that people get set in their ways and often expect others to accept the leftovers. Open communication is a must in relationships. However, I’ve been married twice with a lot of alone time in-between (including 3 years in the wilderness by myself)… and I can handle both, but I definitely prefer being with someone (with open communication, that is).

      If your scenario plays out I hope you reconsider after the pain subsides. If I had not given in I would have missed those wonderful years with Karen.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark February 8, 2016 / 2:13 am

        I’m an old woman and set in my ways . . . I’m tired of keeping my mouth shut to keep the peace. If I’m the one left standing, I’ll be okay. I’ve always been sort of a loner anyway.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc February 8, 2016 / 2:25 am

        I truly wish I knew you better, Cathy. Just the other day you were telling me how young you felt and acted. Those were the words of someone who still wants to love life and be loved in return. Now you call yourself “old.” I hope nothing happened in-between that brought you down? Because I feel the hurt in your words, and that saddens me. If you ever want to get things off your chest or out in the open so-to-speak, you know my email now. And I’m a good listener. I don’t judge people. You have a right to your bad days of course, but I would like to see you happy without the underlining current of sadness.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark February 8, 2016 / 3:36 am

        Maybe I should have said “older woman” because I don’t feel decrepit. lol My marital situation can drag me down at times, but it doesn’t define me. I make the best of what I have and hope for better days.
        Now . . . on a public place such as this, I’ve said enough, probably more than I should have, regarding my marriage. But you are easy to talk to, and it just flowed.
        I may take you up on your offer sometime, one never knows. And feel free to write me about anything. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc February 8, 2016 / 3:43 am

        I never thought “decrepit.” But it did sound “down.” But thanks for the clarification. And the offer for “a good listener” is always open to you as well.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

