God, help the people

God, help the people who cannot help themselves

Like the man in the Bronx with nothing on his shelves

And the woman with her child on the streets of L.A.

Trying to keep their faith, and finding it harder everyday

 

God, help the people; blind, deaf, mute, and lame

Always trying to justify their faith in Jesus’ name

Those who do not have enough to make a meal

And far too much self-respect to go out and steal

 

God, help the people; or tell me what’s it all about?

Do you only bless those who jump and shout?

Even Your own Word says, “Put it to the test”

But when many do they see no answered promise

 

God, help the people – Please hear me today

God, help the people – Answer this prayer I pray

God, help the people – Or help me to give it a try

For I can no longer bear to see them cry

God, help the people

 

God, help the people balance life a little more

Why are some always rich and others always poor?

Some so dishonest… see life in the light

Others gave for country… now only see the night

 

God, help the people get it all straightened out

With a new direction, not just the same old route

And most of all, I pray, when you start this anew

I wish to be a helper, and help you see it through

 

 

© JW Thomas

13 thoughts on “God, help the people

  1. Mary Cathleen Clark February 2, 2016 / 2:36 pm

    Poignant piece, JW.
    In my opinion, if there is a God, He more or less let’s us fend for ourselves. I gave up on any help from that quarter long, long ago.
    Cathy

    Liked by 1 person

    • jwtatfbc February 2, 2016 / 10:01 pm

      I actually went the opposite direction. It took me a long time trying all kinds of other beliefs and philosophies before some major events occurred in my life that convinced me He is real. Although, He is definitely hard to categorize, that’s for sure. But we are finite, while He is infinite, so of course it’s going to be hard for us to comprehend His plans. And He gave us all freewill; so even while He continues to love you, He will not try to force you to love Him in return. Like any worthwhile relationship there is a give and take quality that requires commitment. And I find it a bit odd in the human realm, that when I tell people about how my mother abandoned me and my brother when we were young; but then we got back together later in life and had a wonderful relationship they are all pleased and saying that forgiveness is necessary, etc. But the same people don’t want to give their Creator the same shot at second chances (even though it is us humans that are finite and get it wrong, not Him).
      However, while I will quietly hope and pray something special comes your way to prove His existence in your mind and heart, I will outwardly wish you the best in all things. And I hope you truly find happiness in whatever you do and believe. That is straight from my heart.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark February 3, 2016 / 12:00 am

        Like I told a really good friend who is a Christian, it doesn’t bother me that she prays for me. Like some non-Christians, I don’t get all bent out of shape at the thought.
        I leave it to the individual to believe or not believe, and whatever path my friends take, it’s all right with me. I live and let live.
        I grew up attending an Assembly of God church, and am very familiar with the Bible and Its teachings. For my own reasons, I abandoned organized religion many years ago.
        When my Christian friend asked what I believed, I told her that though I didn’t believe in God, I did my best to be able to look at myself in the mirror and not be ashamed of anything I did or said that day; and though many times I failed miserably, I kept trying.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc February 3, 2016 / 12:20 am

        I respect you for trying, that’s all any of us can really do. I never claim to know all the answers… but after many trials and tribulations I now have the “peace that passes all understanding.” And that’s why I remain solid with my faith now. That’s how I can look in the mirror and forgive myself for some really bad things.
        I really do wish you all the best. From what I can surmise from our few conversations, you seem like a smart, thoughtful, and compassionate person. And that’s a positive for society, whether we have the same belief or not. And I know we are only friends by way of the “virtual world online,” but I’m really glad to know you. I admire your writing, and I enjoy your comments and conversations.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark February 3, 2016 / 1:09 am

        I’m happy we ran across each other too–I don’t remember who found who first. 🙂
        I enjoy reading your posts, and our conversations via comments.
        You come across as a really nice guy with a head on his shoulders, someone I would enjoy knowing in person.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc February 3, 2016 / 3:38 am

        Thank you for the comment. And just for the record you found me… and I’m glad you did. And I make it a habit of looking up anyone who comments on any of my posts: and I liked what I saw at your site. Furthermore, I believe we would get along quite well. For one thing, we’re both conversationalists that equally respect other peoples beliefs. And we both love writing (in fact, I love all the primary outlets for creative expression: writing, music, and art).

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc February 3, 2016 / 4:34 am

        Yep, all the writing, art, and song lyrics on my blog are mine except where specified. Plus, I go off in various mediums and genres. My art covers everything from caricatures to fine art. My music covers an equally wide variety. And I like most forms of creative writing. If I decide to upgrade the blogs I’ll include some videos of my songs (instead of just the lyrics). How about you?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark February 3, 2016 / 5:48 am

        If you’re asking if I sing, honestly, I can’t carry a tune in a bucket. Neither can I paint or draw. But I appreciate the beauty in both.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Mary Cathleen Clark February 3, 2016 / 6:08 am

    Accidentally hit send . . .
    I write fiction and a little poetry. On my old blog, I wrote some narrative pieces about my childhood and family and a bit about writing, along with short fiction and poetry. I’ve been moving my poetry and fiction pieces from there over to this blog in preparation for shutting it down. I don’t tell many people here this, but under another pen name, I have published speculative fiction stories in magazines. I felt the need awhile back to start over, recreate myself, so I started a new blog (this one) under another pen name. (Cathy is not made up, it is me. 🙂 )
    I would be interested in seeing your videos. And, as time permits, I’ll have to explore you blog more fully, poke around and see what’s there.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jwtatfbc February 3, 2016 / 6:37 am

      Other than poetry I’m not published. However, I’ve had several scripts used for live shows with stunt actors back when I was in the business. I’ve also been in a couple bands, and did some solo performing over the years. Nothing major, but I got to perform my songs. I have also sold art over the years; but mostly for second income, never as a main career.

      I, too, had other blogs (mine were with Blogger), but they developed glitches so I came over to try WordPress. But I’m still figuring out how to get things the way I want them with the program. I’m old school, and not very tech-minded.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Mary Cathleen Clark February 3, 2016 / 4:23 pm

    It sounds as if you’ve lived an interesting life, JW. Though I’ve done a little traveling in the US, I still live no more than an hour away from where I was born and raised. I’ve never made enough from my writing to live on, just a little extra income from time to time. I quit writing years ago when I became a mother.Then, after my son flew the nest, I decided to take it up again. A couple of years later, my first husband died (he was only in his 40s) and quite a few years passed before I was able to write again. So now, I’m working on a novel, and since I have had luck placing short fiction, it gives me hope that maybe I’ll find a literary agent or publisher to take it on–when eventually, I get it edited to my satisfaction. If not, I’ll just keep writing and trying.
    I’ve been using WordPress for over 2 years, so if you have any questions, I may be able to help. And I do know my way around a computer pretty good. 🙂
    Cathy

    Liked by 1 person

    • jwtatfbc February 3, 2016 / 10:15 pm

      Be sure to let me know when your work is published. I’d love to check it out. I already know I like your writing style. And I thank you for the offer with help on Word Press. I may take you up on that soon. I get a little frustrated with programs that have no instructions.

      Like

Leave a Reply

