On the Boulevard

The girls on the street are often pretty

Though the common street life has made them gritty

Where every life story can make you cry

With sordid tales of tears that caused their hope to die

 

On the boulevard, where life can be so hard

Where Cinderella dreams fall to pagan spells

Where the lure of gold changes the young soul

In conformance to the pain, in a world known as Hell

On the boulevard, where souls are often charred

Where demons take on faces in the guise of love and wine

Where thoughts of suicide fill the child as days go by

With a mind of misconception on these streets of stolen time

 

The budding rose of childhood, abused and mistreated

Cast out to bloom among the weeds, they are defeated

They would throw this life away if they could

But they’re caught between both sides, misunderstood

 

One side is the side seeking money

Supplying those with demand for tasting honey

And the rest are those who drive on by

Sold on condemnation without even asking why

 

On the boulevard, callousness becomes your guard

And sex becomes a weapon in the hands of those obscene

There are no boulevard knights dressed in armor shining white

Just those of darkest gray with wretchedness as their routine

On the boulevard, where you’re only dealt one card

And that one card is marked by the unseen dealing hand

Where fact is far from fiction as it reeks of honesty

Slapping those across the face who think all are still born free

 

The girls on the street would pray if they could

Though most are faithless now, spurned by pious good

Self-sacrifice is now their lot, in order to survive

No spark of hope remaining; living, though not alive

 

On the boulevard, where life can be so hard

Where Cinderella dreams fall to Pagan spells

Where the lure of gold changes the young soul

In conformance to the pain in a world known as Hell

On the boulevard, where souls are often charred

Where demons take on faces in the guise of love and wine

Where thoughts of suicide fill the child as days go by

With a mind of misconception on these streets of stolen time

 

© JW Thomas

 

8 thoughts on “On the Boulevard

  1. Mary Cathleen Clark January 31, 2016 / 2:26 pm

    Not many people give these children a second thought, and if they do, think they are where they wish to be. Not many realize that so many of the girls–and boys–who make their living on the streets were trying to escape from a horrible home situation, and ended up in hell.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jwtatfbc February 1, 2016 / 1:05 am

      Sad, but true. My mom ran a half-way house for troubled girls. And since I became a P.I. for a dozen or so years, she would ask me to help them out with their cases quite often. I became entrenched with their stories, and even as a so-called macho guy it was hard not to shed a tear.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark February 1, 2016 / 1:58 am

        Understandable. I was blessed with two wonderful parents, and didn’t realize until I was grown, that wasn’t the case with everyone. As a teenager, I had some bad experiences, did some really stupid things, but none of my mistakes were caused by my home life–just an immature brain.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc February 1, 2016 / 2:02 am

        My mom left when me and my brother were very young. But she eventually found faith after some really bad years. And that was what led her to work with girls with troubled lives. The experience made her stronger, and we ended up with a wonderful relationship before she passed.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark February 1, 2016 / 2:08 am

        I’m glad to hear that. People make mistakes, screw up royally sometimes. You’re a good man to realize that and forgive her. I’m sure it meant the world to her that you did.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jwtatfbc February 1, 2016 / 2:12 am

        I’ve made enough bonehead moves of my own to know we all make mistakes. And forgiveness was as beneficial to me as it was for her. As I’m sure you know. No one can write characters the way you do without either observing it or living it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Cathleen Clark February 1, 2016 / 2:22 am

        Well, that sounds like a compliment. I always worry that my characters aren’t fleshed out enough. Of course, I worry about weak storyline and everything else too. lol
        And yes, I’ve done a little living and a lot of observing.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. jwtatfbc February 1, 2016 / 2:29 am

    It was definitely a compliment. I haven’t followed your blog that long (since I’ve only recently started my two with word press just over a month ago). But it has quickly made it into my top 3 (and I follow over a hundred already). It’s because of your writing style.

    Like

Leave a Reply

