The Senses

See me

Hear me

Touch me

Taste me

Smell me

And move… I must.

Without the blur, sparkle, fade to darkness,

or mesmerizing moonlight… you

cannot join me where I am.

Without the boom, sizzle, creak of the hinge,

or squeal of the newborn… you

will not hear that which I hear.

Without the gentle, harsh, tight-fisted grip,

or hair raising inappropriate goose… you

would fail to feel that which I feel.

Without the spicy, chocolate, tangy sweet cakes,

or bacon rousing mornings… you

could not salivate over my tasty experience.

Without the smoke, cat box, rosey-covered B.O.,

or fishy fresh perfume… you

would wonder why I opt not to sniff.

Without the jump, sag, belly-laugh jiggle,

or “sorry my dearie” crawl… you

could not know each motion I make.

See me

Hear me

Touch me

Taste me

Smell me

And move… I must

For writers must evoke the senses.

 

© Jerry Thomas

Leave a Reply

