A child’s salvation: by Margie McGuire

From the time I received Christ in my life I have been a Sunday school teacher of one kind or another; which in itself is a blessing since I only have a third-grade education. So for me to do something like being able to teach has to come from God. He has blessed me beyond words. But the biggest blessing came when I did not want it.

I had just finished teaching Vacation Bible School and was looking forward to some time off. But a lady from another town, who had come to help us, asked if I would return the favor and help with her VBS. I hate to admit it, but I really didn’t want to. But I didn’t know how to tell her, so I said if Veldora, another member, would go than I would. I did not think Veldora would accept, so I was surprised when she agreed. But I was now hooked. I couldn’t get out of it. She even agreed to pick me up and drop me off.

The first morning of VBS, when she arrived to get me, there was a butterfly on the porch. I love butterflies and, as a hobby, I take pictures of them. But there was no film in my camera, and no time to get any, so I left disappointed.

We spent the week teaching four children: three boys and a girl. The little girl was extremely shy, remained by my side constantly, and refused to go out and play. And yet, she was the only one of the four that asked Jesus into her heart. It was such a blessing to see.

The day after VBS ended there was another butterfly on my porch. I still had not bought any film, so I had to go to the store. In the natural world, that beautiful creature should have left long before I returned, but it was still there, and I was able to use the whole roll capturing its beauty on film. I was even able to pick the butterfly up and set it wherever I chose for another picture. And I’m convinced it was a blessing from God for doing my part.

Six-months later, Veldora called and told me the precious little girl passed away. I was shocked. I had initially wanted to refuse to teach at that VBS, and yet God turned it around and gave me something wonderful, a memory I will never forget. That precious child will always be a part of me, and I thank God for the lesson, and the chance to do His will.

MargieMcGuire_02

(Margie McGuire)

[*I wish to thank Margie for her testimony.]

Leave a Reply

