In crucial times: testimony by Tricia Melvin

My salvation testimony does not entail a one-time enlightening event. It arrived through a culmination of many events throughout my life; especially when I began to sense God’s spiritual handiwork during crucial times. Sadly, however, I prolonged my disbelief.

During my adolescence and early adulthood I would boast to family and friends about being an Atheist. I remember making statements about scientific evidence, and so-called facts and proof. And about how stories typically get exaggerated and the message completely changed, and that was my “excuse” to disbelieve the Bible.

Then one day, all of a sudden, I realized that I believe. I am a Believer. I suppose my subconscious would no longer allow me to deny God’s spiritual handiwork in my life. I don’t know how to explain it; I just knew He was there. He is real. And I knew He had been there each and every time I needed Him. He was there when I thought of people in turmoil, when I was saddened by someone I knew involved in a vehicle accident, and when others I knew were paralyzed or didn’t survive. He was also there during my accidents.

When I knew the vehicle was out of control, about to wreck, I cried, “Oh God, please help me!” And in two subsequent accidents I called out to God again. In my moment of need I instinctively called out to God, not science. And He was there, He heard me, and He answered. His thoughts came into my mind, and I realized He had always been there. But I had not allowed myself to believe.

All that time, even during my misguided period of atheism, God was there for me. I don’t know the date, year, or even the season of my salvation. I just realized I believe, accepted it, and carried on. God took me under His wing, protected me, and kept me safe. When I remembered the near-death experiences I knew I was under God’s protection.

When growing up, my folks always spoke of the Good Lord, and when they grew-up, and their experiences with God, and I think their action set a firm foundation for my belief.

Start children off on the way they should go, and even when they are old they will not turn from it. — Proverbs 22:6 (New International Version).

Courtney Clan 10001

(Tricia is second from right in front row with crossed legs.)

I know in my heart I will never disbelieve God again. No matter what thoughts cross my mind, or what I’m told, I know I am now firmly grounded. I know He saved me. I called to Him in times of critical need and He did not abandon me; not even during my period of stupidity and boasting. He was always there. He is there. I know it, I feel it, with absolute certainty.

 

[* I wish to thank Tricia for sending me her testimony.]

Leave a Reply

